What's new

Budget Recommendations (1 Viewer)

snatch13

Auditioning
Real Name
Collin Galganski
Hey, I am new to this forum, but not new to forums so I know this kind of sounds like a noob post.

But, I am a college student looking to put together a decent "theater" in my room in my apartment. The downfall is that I don't have a anything yet since I have only been moved out for about a year. My budget is around $2k. I'd like to stay around/under that mark.

Although my room is small I was thinking about getting a projector. Any thoughts or comments on this? I was looking at the BenQ MP620p projector.
http://www.projectorcentral.com/BenQ-MP620p.htm
The things I liked about it were the price, HD compatability, and the brightness. Also, it would be placed only about 7 feet from the wall/screen so this one would seem to do the job for that. Plus, projecting on a wall/screen would create a farther distance from where I would be sitting, so I could get a larger screen.

From there I was looking at this Yamaha HTR-5760 receiver.
http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-HTR-576...&s=electronics
I was looking to spend between 350-500 on a receiver, so if you have any other suggestions I'm all for it.

As for speakers I really don't have the slightest clue. I'd like some fronts and a center speaker that can mount on the wall (like the cinemavision speakers) becasue I don't have a lot of space. I would consider some sattelites, but would obviously like to spend more on the other 3 speakers.

This probably seems like a broad post, but I'd like to get some people's opinions on the receiver/projector and also suggestions.

Thanks in advance!

homthtr

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Steve
For that projector at 7' you'll get a screen size of 51" diag. First $1000 gone.

Are you planning on getting a screen or projecting this on the wall? (Screen $500). You're budget is pretty much gone and we don't have interconects, source equipment, Receiver, Speakers or sub....