What's new

B&W sub,vs.VelodyneF1800R,vs. Carve Sunfire true sub (1 Viewer)

Thomas C. H

Auditioning
Hello all!! My first message here!! Great forum!! I am looking to get a sub in the near future! My choices are the new Nautilus sub that will coming out, the Velodyne,F1800R and the Carver Sunfire True Sub! I am looking to spend a good amount on one due to the fact that I want a "musical" sub!! I do spend many hours of listening to music besides movies and I have found many subs in the $500-$800 range to be a bit boomy for music!! Great for movies though! I was an installer for a home theater company while I was in school and I have heard both the Velodyne and the Carver!! I always thought the Carver was tight!! I have yet to hear the new Nautilus!! When is that due out?? I would to hear all oppionions!!

My current rig:
Yamaha RX V 1300 rcvr.
B&W Nautilus 804 mains (black)
B&W CC6 center
Paradigm Titans for rears!
Sony DVD
Sony 36" WEGA TV

Future components, A Krell amp of some kind!! (not sure which one I want)
B&W Nautilus 805 for rears
Monster Cable Power distibutor/regulator
Hopefully someday, B&W Sig 800's Tigers Eye finish

I listen to all types of music as I am a Wedding Dj on the weekends so I do not have one style of musical taste!!

Favorite Demo CD Four Play :Bali Run

Any help would be appreciated!!

PS Tell me about REL!!!

Mike Matheson

Second Unit
Thomas, I think your "!" key is sticking. . . :)

There's another thread running right now discussing RELs vs. some other subs (REL Stentor....what is an SVS equal?). Lots of controversy over the notion of a "musical" sub--what qualifies as "musical", whether a sub can be good for HT and music both, etc.