What's new

Audio for Laserdisc Player (1 Viewer)

Robb Cadigan

Auditioning
Hi. I'm new to this and thought I'd ask for help. We are putting a media room in our basement. Primary use will be watching DVDs with a front projector (Marantz or Runco DLP).

I also have an old Pioneer DVL-700 combo laserdisc player that I would like to make use of for some of my LDs that aren't out on DVD yet. I would use a new DVD player for the DVDs and use this old unit exclusively for LDs.

Anyway, I was told today that the new AV receivers do not process the AC-3 sound from LDs anymore, so I would probably have to buy a separate processor for this. Otherwise, I wouldn't get any sound.

Does this make sense? I only have a handful of LDs I want to watch, so I don't want to spend a lot just to watch these. I can't believe I can't just plug this unit into today's AV receivers and get sound (maybe not the best surround, not functional at least).

Any help would be very much appreciated! Thanks.

greg_t

Screenwriter
In order to get Dolby Digital, or AC3 as it's called in the laserdisc world, you will need a LD with an AC3 RF output, and an RF demodulator. You run a cable from the RF out on the LD player into the RF demodulator, from there you can run a digital cable directly into your DD reciever to get DD sound. I don't know right off hand if your DVL 700 has an AC-3 out or not. I got my RF demodulator off ebay for $125 new. These are getting more rare and more expensive.

You can get DTS sound on DTS laserdiscs by simply running a digital connection into a digital input on your DTS reciever. YOu can also connect the LD player to the reciever via regular RCA cables and get prologic sound. Hope this helps.

Michael Reuben

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Reuben
Otherwise, I wouldn't get any sound.