Are the layers on hybrid sacd's selectable?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brennan Hill, Aug 26, 2002.

  1. Brennan Hill

    Brennan Hill Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 1998
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can I buy one of the new Stones' cd's and take it to a Store and easily do an a/b test between the sacd layer and redbook?
     
  2. John Kotches

    John Kotches Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Presuming it's an SACD player, yes.

    You can't do an instantaneous switch though.

    Regards,
     
  3. Brennan Hill

    Brennan Hill Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 1998
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow! Thanks for the quick response!

    B
     
  4. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brennan, the unfortunate thing, as John said, is that you cannot switch between SACD and CD layers on the fly. You have to stop the disc first. So, it's easiest to compare the beginning of a song on both layers. SACD players have an "SACD/CD" button on the front panel and remote to allow you to switch layers. Just make sure you know which layer you are starting with. Sony SACD players can be set by the user to choose either the CD or SACD layer by default.
     
  5. David Berry

    David Berry Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brennan,

    For my Sony player, 'C555ES, it takes about 10 seconds all said and done when changing from redbook to SACD or SACD to redbook with a hybrid disc. The machine cannot be playing the CD when performing the changeover.
     

Share This Page