1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Adding Height Channel

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by David-T, Nov 5, 2003.

  1. David-T

    David-T Extra

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was wondering if anyone has toyed around with the height channel for Home Theater? And if so how did you lay your ceiling speakers out. I am looking at buying two pairs of ceiling speakers, but am skeptical about cutting into my sheetrock and finding out that these speakers are not in the right location. Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.[​IMG]
     
  2. JamesCB

    JamesCB Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Heigth channel? Are you refering to Yamaha's front effects channel?
     
  3. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    5,110
    This is quite a bit beyond "basics". I'm moving it to a more appropriate location.

    M.
     
  4. Stephen Hopkins

    Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You could put the speakers there, but there's nothing out there to decode a height channel, and nothing out there with a height channel encoded, so the speakers would be pretty much useless until a sound format supporting height came along, which probably won't be any time in the near future since most people won't find placement of speakers on their ceilings feasible.

    That's the longest sentence i've ever typed...
     
  5. David-T

    David-T Extra

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I first would like to thank the people who replied. James, I do have a Yamaha receiver, but this is not the height channel I am referring to. I read an article in “Widescreen Review” in the editor feedback section; I guess talking about this new channel. I have the processor and amp and was going to take my front center channel and rear center channel to come up with a matrix height channel. The only thing I am hesitant about is cutting holes in my ceiling for the four ceiling speakers. By the way this room is a dedicated theater room, which measures 17’ x 21’. If I cut these holes out and install the ceiling speaker and do not like the ambient sound effects or they are to localized I will have to repair the ceiling. So that is why I was asking if anyone has fooled around with the positioning of these speakers. It’s easy to position the other speakers in the room since their not in the sheetrock. I want the height channel so it will give the effect that the ceiling is not there and the effect of arrows, mortar rounds, planes are going over your head. Sound outside comes to you from all directions and this is what I am trying to achieve. I was also reading somewhere, I think it was on the Smart Device site, that two movies had this channel imbedded in the sound track and they are: “We Were Soldiers” and the “Star Wars Episode II: Attack Of The Clones”. I was also hoping asking this question would also help other people in this hobby.[​IMG]
     
  6. Ronnie Ferrell

    Ronnie Ferrell Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd say go for it! If you don't like it, patching sheetrock is not brain surgery. Running the wires will probably be that hardest part.

    Disclaimer: Now if you have popcorn ceilings I would think twice about it!

    Ronnie
     
  7. Wes

    Wes Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1997
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah USA
    Real Name:
    Wes Peterson
    You will find this interesting reading!
    http://hometheaterforum.com/htforum/...light=overhead

    I still have my theater set up with the OverHead channel and I'm guessing I am one of the few that has even tried it. Decoding the channel with a Prologic decoder does work and I still stand by my reviews.

    Wes
     

Share This Page