720p to 1080i

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Allen>B, Nov 3, 2003.

  1. Allen>B

    Allen>B Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My TV only supports 1080i.

    Is there a quality adapter/converter to take component 720p signals (from Xbox) and convert them to component 1080i?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Josh Q S

    Josh Q S Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd like to know this one too. Anybody know?
     
  3. AlexanderS

    AlexanderS Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most televisions will upconvert the signal from 720p to 1080i. I have a 55" Toshiba and it only displays 480 and 1080. If it won't upconvert automatically then I think your stuck using 480p.
     
  4. Matt Davis

    Matt Davis Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know of any adapters, but my sony that claims to upconvert from 720p to 1080i didn't do a very good job with Soul Caliber II. More exactly it did the upconversion, but the size of the image on the display only filled about 70% of the screen. Strange. I had to tell my Xbox not to do 720p.[​IMG]
     
  5. TimG

    TimG Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Matt: Your Sony probably automatically squeezes 720p and 1080i signals. Is Soul Caliber a 4x3 ratio game?

    Alan & Matt: You could spend about a $1000 or more for a scaler if you really wanted to convert 720p. Very few displays show 720p natively, unless it is a digital display like plasma or lcd/dlp.

    Tim
     
  6. Phil Levy

    Phil Levy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Matt, if I remember correctly the issue is that SC2 will only output in 4:3 in 720p mode, but will do 16:9 at 480p.
     

Share This Page