What's new

3802 owners with external amps.... (1 Viewer)

Eric T

Second Unit
I've been thinking about getting a 2-channel external amp for music or even a 6/7-channel amp for HT. Just wondering if you've noticed a big improvement by doing this, and if so, what amps you are using.

I've never used a stand-alone amp before, so I'm not sure if there's much to be gained. I'm sure a $5000 amp would make a difference, but I'm thinking of something I might be able to get for $1k or less (used if necessary).

Yogi

Screenwriter
Even a $300 Rotel, B&K or a Parasound amp will make a remarkable difference in 2 channel sound of the 3802. For $1000 the difference will only be that much better. The 3802 has a very nice preamp section. I'd say go with the amp upgrade you wont regret it.

Eric T

Second Unit
Yogi, are you using an external amp? If so, which model? What sonic differences did you notice with your upgrade?

I've looked around, and found a used Classe CA-101. I've heard good things about this brand. Anyone out there using this amp?

Also found a Parasound 855A. 5 channels is a plus, but I'm wondering if 85 WPC @ 8 ohms will really be an upgrade for the 3802.

Robin Casady

Agent
I was running a 3802 and decided to upgrade to an Outlaw 950 and 770 amp. The amp arrived several months earlier than the 950. So I used the 3802 as a pre. It made a big difference. Notes were much clearer and cleaner.

Chuck Kent

Supporting Actor
I can't comment on how much of an improvement adding an amp would make because I have always used a 5 channel Carver 705 amp with my 3802 (from day 1.)

What I can say is that the 3802 and amp combo sounds great. The 3802 works very well as a pre-amp/processor...

Wayne McRae

Stunt Coordinator