Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Tumult #3 has arrived!


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
32 replies to this topic

#1 of 33 OFFLINE   Brian Bunge

Brian Bunge

    Producer



  • 3,719 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 11 2000

Posted June 04 2003 - 03:45 AM

Just thought I'd let everyone know (especially those still waiting) that my 3rd and final Tumult has arrived today. So hopefully Adire has gotten pretty much caught up on orders.
Brian Bunge
RAD Home Theater

#2 of 33 OFFLINE   Andrew Pratt

Andrew Pratt

    Producer



  • 3,813 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 08 1998

Posted June 04 2003 - 04:45 AM

What are you planning on doing with these drivers? Box size? PR? Sealed? Etc?

#3 of 33 OFFLINE   Brian Bunge

Brian Bunge

    Producer



  • 3,719 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 11 2000

Posted June 04 2003 - 04:58 AM

Andrew,

Mine is in an 18" cube, sealed and I'll be using an LT with a Crown K2. Here's the enclosure:

Posted Image
Brian Bunge
RAD Home Theater

#4 of 33 OFFLINE   Dan Hine

Dan Hine

    Screenwriter



  • 1,314 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 03 2000

Posted June 04 2003 - 05:09 AM

Quote:
with a Crown K2


Hopefully just one side of it this time...right Brian? Posted Image
I strive to be the man my dog thinks I am.

#5 of 33 Guest_Anthony_Gomez_*

Guest_Anthony_Gomez_*
  • Join Date: --

Posted June 04 2003 - 05:26 AM

na...he is using 1 k2 per coil now. last time he was underpowered and trashed the coil via clipping....atleast that is what I have been telling him!Posted Image Posted Image

#6 of 33 OFFLINE   Kyle Richardson

Kyle Richardson

    Screenwriter



  • 1,076 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 01 1998

Posted June 04 2003 - 06:22 AM

Yeah, I got the Denali hooked up last night and possibly the Everest tonight.
I was telling Gomez earlier today that last night I put on a 15Hz sine wave at pretty high levels with 1Kw of power. 2Pr's and 1 Tumult were moving a BUNCH without much sound coming from the sub at all, but you should have heard my poor house!
Damn, that's fun!Posted Image
Kyle Richardson
Acoustic Visions

AOL Instant Messenger Name: kyler70
MSN IM: acousticvisions@hotmail.com

#7 of 33 Guest_Anthony_Gomez_*

Guest_Anthony_Gomez_*
  • Join Date: --

Posted June 04 2003 - 06:34 AM

so...when do we all get to party at your house? Posted Image

#8 of 33 OFFLINE   Chris Tsutsui

Chris Tsutsui

    Screenwriter



  • 1,869 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 01 2002

Posted June 04 2003 - 06:55 AM

I bet it's weird when you can't hear anything so you wonder if the subs are working. Then you look at the SPL meter to find it off the charts.

I know LTs have been discussed in the past, but what made you go with a sealed LT instead of a PR design? Mainly to save money or does your LT have different sound quality attributes?


#9 of 33 OFFLINE   Kyle Richardson

Kyle Richardson

    Screenwriter



  • 1,076 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 01 1998

Posted June 04 2003 - 08:41 AM

I'm not sure why Brian went with it but I'll list the 2 biggest reasons: 1. Size of enclosure. 2. The ability to customize the Q of the subwoofer to your tastes without altering the box.
Kyle Richardson
Acoustic Visions

AOL Instant Messenger Name: kyler70
MSN IM: acousticvisions@hotmail.com

#10 of 33 OFFLINE   Brian Bunge

Brian Bunge

    Producer



  • 3,719 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 11 2000

Posted June 04 2003 - 08:47 AM

Kyle,

Precisely. Since I have a very open floor plan I really had to worry about size a bit and I didn't have any room up front to place the sub. So I went with an end table design that would fit my decor. I also wanted to play with faux finishes and see if we could make a sub look like a piece of furniture. I think we did pretty good! Posted Image
Brian Bunge
RAD Home Theater

#11 of 33 OFFLINE   Kyle Richardson

Kyle Richardson

    Screenwriter



  • 1,076 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 01 1998

Posted June 05 2003 - 01:20 AM

Quote:
Precisely.


Woo Hoo! Do I get a gold star? Posted Image
Kyle Richardson
Acoustic Visions

AOL Instant Messenger Name: kyler70
MSN IM: acousticvisions@hotmail.com

#12 of 33 OFFLINE   Greg Yeatts

Greg Yeatts

    Second Unit



  • 300 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 26 2002

Posted June 05 2003 - 01:37 AM

I was going to use an LT on my Tumult. I even have an Rod Elliot LT (thanks Anthony) that I am not using. However, I like to listen to my HT at reference levels on movies. With my sub in a 1.7 ft^3 box, I could only get 108 out of a Tumult with 1600 watts with an LT. This is anechoic. I know I could expect a little help from room gain. With my 172 liter ported sub, I can hopefully get 117 db at 1,000 watts anechoic at 20 hertz. The F3 is 17 hertz. I'll know in the next day or two. My reasons for not using the LT are that at reference levels, it would take more power than I wanted to pay for and I would be beating my sub to death on loud movies (which happen to be the ones I like).

I was limited on how much power I could use because I wanted a plate amp. The biggest affordable amp I've seen is the Kiega 1,000 watt model (thanks Kyle). I wanted a plate amp because I like to use my remote to operate the system. Also, if I sell my Tumult later, it would be an easier resell with a plate amp IMO.

#13 of 33 OFFLINE   Brian Bunge

Brian Bunge

    Producer



  • 3,719 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 11 2000

Posted June 05 2003 - 02:15 AM

Kyle,

Next time I send something that side of the country I'll be sure to drop a gold star in the mail too!Posted Image

Greg,

I may be missing something, but how does what type of amp you have affect using your remote to operate the system? Is it because of the auto sensing circuits built into plate amps? I just leave my K2 powered up all the time.
Brian Bunge
RAD Home Theater

#14 of 33 OFFLINE   Greg Yeatts

Greg Yeatts

    Second Unit



  • 300 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 26 2002

Posted June 05 2003 - 02:32 AM

Brian

Most of the cheaper pro amps (which is what I was looking at) do not have auto-on features. Being built in (the amp mounted onto the sub box) and auto-on was what I was looking at because if I resell the sub, a buyer may be interested in those features. I often get upgraditus and sell my current project to fund a future project. I'm kind of paranoid about leaving something on all of the time. How much power does a K2 draw at idle?

#15 of 33 OFFLINE   Kyle Richardson

Kyle Richardson

    Screenwriter



  • 1,076 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 01 1998

Posted June 05 2003 - 02:56 AM

Posted Image Posted Image
Posted Image
Kyle Richardson
Acoustic Visions

AOL Instant Messenger Name: kyler70
MSN IM: acousticvisions@hotmail.com

#16 of 33 OFFLINE   Andrew Pratt

Andrew Pratt

    Producer



  • 3,813 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 08 1998

Posted June 05 2003 - 03:03 AM

Posted Image Posted Image

#17 of 33 OFFLINE   Greg Yeatts

Greg Yeatts

    Second Unit



  • 300 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 26 2002

Posted June 05 2003 - 03:48 AM

Kyle

What'll she do?

#18 of 33 Guest_Anthony_Gomez_*

Guest_Anthony_Gomez_*
  • Join Date: --

Posted June 05 2003 - 03:52 AM

he he...he....he he.....I see boob...he he ...he he...that kicks ass...DAAH DAAH DAAAAHH!! DAAH DAAH DAAAAHH!!

Posted Image

#19 of 33 OFFLINE   Hank Frankenberg

Hank Frankenberg

    Screenwriter



  • 2,573 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 13 1998

Posted June 05 2003 - 05:12 AM

That's what I'm talkin' 'bout!!

#20 of 33 OFFLINE   Brian Bunge

Brian Bunge

    Producer



  • 3,719 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 11 2000

Posted June 05 2003 - 05:42 AM

I forgot to tell you guys, my Tumult came with a couple of free gifts! There were two chrome plated hex wrenches stuck to the side of the magnet!Posted Image
Brian Bunge
RAD Home Theater





Forum Nav Content I Follow