What's new

Speaker Receiver set up combination (1 Viewer)

Vincentdel3

Auditioning
Real Name
vince del medico
I'm a college student who is looking to upgrade my current speaker/receiver set up. I have a hodge podge of speakers I was given by my dad that I'm trying to utilize and am asking this to make sure i'm buying the right components.

Currently I have a marantz stereo which I've been told was good quality back in the day. It has two 170 watt speakers sets (12" woofer, 5"midrange 3" Tweeter 8 Ohm) hooked up to the PM-432 Integrated Amplifier from the set. However the amp's second set of speaker hookups, B system, is broken. I also have two MCS 8320 linear phase speakers 8 Ohms, a optimus unpowered subwoofer and one generic sanyo speaker from a shelf cd player.

I want to buy a receiver that will power both the marantz and MCS large speakers. After looking at Best Buy and only seeing items geared towards home theatre and not loud party music I'm leaning toward this http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=248-482

With this I will be able to power both sets near their maximum loudness or will the 240w rating this amp has be reduced to 120 watts with all four speakers hooked up?

Also if the amp exceeds the speaker watt rating does this put them at risk of "blowing"? versus if it was less than the speaker's rating?

If anyone can answer this or suggest a better item please do ( thats why I included the extra audio eq I have). And the audio source will be a ipod definitely.

Also because the house is a large 8 person house for parties we were planing on wiring these four throughout the first floor and is why we wanted all 4 speakers being powered.

Thank you very much and apologies for my ignorance if i misused terms.

Vince

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al