1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

will progressive scan give me a better picture ona a stansard rptv

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brian Fineberg, Aug 21, 2001.

  1. Brian Fineberg

    Brian Fineberg Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2000
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a 53 inch sony and am wondering if this will improve the picture quality. It is capable of 840 lines of resolution. could someone help me? thank you
     
  2. RobertR

    RobertR Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 1998
    Messages:
    9,970
    Likes Received:
    355
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    If your TV is not capable of handling more than a 15.75 kHz signal, which I assume is what you mean by a "regular" TV, then you will not be able to use a progressive player. You need to upgrade your TV.
    ------------------
     
  3. Brian Fineberg

    Brian Fineberg Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2000
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does that mean it wont do anything to improve or will th epicture not show up properly? it is a standard non HD tv if that helps
     
  4. JohnHN

    JohnHN Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unless the set is what Sony calls a hi scan, it will not be able to display a 480p signal. The fact that it claims however many lines of (vertical?) resolution is irrelevant.
    I used to think that getting a progressive player wouldn't hurt in cases like this; sure, you'd have to use the player in interlaced mode, wasting the deinterlacing feature that you paid for, but since the newest and best players are progressive, maybe the extra cost of the progressive player would be worth it for other features (e.g. better D/A conversion). There's a catch, however. It turns out that there is a weird ergonomic problem with using players that use the Mediamatics chip. See, for example, the description of the Malata, Apex, and JVC in
    http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volum...-2-8-2001.html
    Personally, I'd go with the Panasonic 31 or something similar and call it a day until you get an HD set.
    ------------------
     

Share This Page