which dvd players have a buffer to cut out the layer change pause??

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Gavin McCullough, Aug 3, 2001.

  1. Gavin McCullough

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 1998
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    subject line short of says it all....how many players have a storage buffer to stop the pause seen at the layer change?? thanks g
     
  2. Andrew V

    Andrew V Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Jeremy Hegna

    Jeremy Hegna Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The 2800 and the new Denon 4800 will also incorporate this feature as well as DVD-A and burr-brown DACs...
    I started another thread on this topic. All the info you need about the 2800...feel free to e-mail me, I've been using one for about 6 months.
    Jeremy
    [email protected]
     
  4. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,593
    Likes Received:
    757
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    I have a suspicion that the RP91 has some form of buffer, although it is not enough to render layer changes unnoticeable.
    The other day, at the layer change, I heard the motor spin up like it was switching layers, but the audio and video still ran for like 1 second. Then there was a split (1/4 second or so) delay where the actual change took place, not too bad at all, and then the DVD resumed.
    Man, if they would have added about 1/2 second more of memory, the RP91 would be the bomb!
    ------------------
    My dealer of choice (especially if you live in So-Cal, I highly recommend them): www.yawaonline.com

    Click here for their www.audiosurvey.com reviews
     
  5. Ken Seeber

    Ken Seeber Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 1999
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Even Denon's new entry-level DVD-1000 was supposed to have this. I think the player sells for $300 to $350.
     
  6. Captain Spaulding

    Captain Spaulding Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Location:
    OH
    Real Name:
    Jay
    Its not that I don't take your question seriously,but it always brings a smile to my face when folks are upset at a visible layer change on DVD. I remember the "not-so-old days" when I had to get up off the couch and actually flip a laser disc over!
     
  7. Gavin McCullough

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 1998
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jay, funny you should bring that up...i almost mentioned that fact in my first reply....i started with laser too...mostly it is my wife that always mentions the layer change...it really doesn't bother me since i would have to walk my sorry butt over to the laser player and flip the platter in the "old" days...but it would be nice is there was no pause (after all, DVD should be better than VHS in all ways...VHS has no pause, and you can record over tape...of course DVD is so much better than tape in picture and sound)...or if the pause was in a fade out...or someplace other than in the middle of a freakin sentence like it is sometimes....anyways...enough of that...was hoping that the RP91 had a buffer, since that is what i was planning on getting....i really in no rush, since i don't have a 16:9, nor a HDTV....will wait a bit and see what the next up-grades are...and also see how the new denon works, the new toshibas and maybe even the panny will get a buffer with the next up-grade...thanks all...g
    without a buffer, which player handles the layer switch best??
    [Edited last by Gavin McCullough on August 03, 2001 at 10:19 PM]
     
  8. Eugene Hsieh

    Eugene Hsieh Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not that I recommend this player as a primary player, but the Apex AD600A has no discernable layer change. ie. smooth player with no pause whatsoever on the discs I've bothered to check, as opposed to 1 s on my old player. If I recall, the Apex tested in the shootout had the best layer change they had ever seen. I dunno about my new Panny RP91 though, since I haven't tested this much yet. It's not really surprising about the Apex, since it's not really built like other older players. (I've connected it to my PC and Windows just recognized it as a standard DVD-ROM drive.)
    quote: Its not that I don't take your question seriously,but it always brings a smile to my face when folks are upset at a visible layer change on DVD. I remember the "not-so-old days" when I had to get up off the couch and actually flip a laser disc over![/quote]And to this day I still can't stand that. That was one of the reasons I never bought into laser. Too damn annoying for me. My flipper DVDs still irritate me to no end.
    ------------------
    Eugene Hsieh, VisorCentral FAQ Editor
    1000 km on a tank of gas??? Check out the Prius and drive the future now!
    [Edited last by Eugene Hsieh on August 05, 2001 at 01:54 AM]
     
  9. Tom J. Davis

    Tom J. Davis Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 30, 1999
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm amazed more manufactuers don't add a buffer to try and hide the layer changes. Seems like it would be easy and cheap for them to do.
    Oh well, it does beat getting up and changing discs. [​IMG]
     
  10. Wayne Bundrick

    Wayne Bundrick Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The funny thing is, all DVD players do have a buffer. It's part of the DVD specification, it couldn't do seamless branching without it. If you choose to watch "The Abyss" theatrical cut, the DVD player has to skip over all of the special edition scenes, and without a buffer there would be a pause every time. The required minimum size of the buffer is designed to accommodate the worst-case scenario, determined by multiplying the maximum bitrate by the amount of time it takes the laser to make a full-stroke seek plus rotational latency.
    It doesn't take a DVD player long to change layers. Try skipping from a chapter on the first layer to a chapter on the second layer to see how long it takes, compared to skipping between chapters on the same layer. So the buffer memory that is sufficient for seamless branching should be able to handle a layer change as well. But most DVD players can't seem to properly manage the buffer during a layer change. They drop the ball.
     
  11. RobertR

    RobertR Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 1998
    Messages:
    9,936
    Likes Received:
    329
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    I've also noticed that my HTPC player (ATI Radeon based) has a big enough buffer (unlike set top players, you can actually set the size of buffers in a computer based player yourself) that layer changes are not only not a problem--I can't notice them at ALL. For example, the layer switch in The 7th Voyage of Sinbad caused a word or two of dialog to be lost with my set top player. With the HTPC, it was as if the disc didn't even HAVE a layer switch.
    ------------------
     
  12. Eugene Hsieh

    Eugene Hsieh Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  13. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My old Proscan 8680Z used to do layer changes seamlessly 80-90% of the time. Pretty amazing the old DIVX machine did so well.
    ------------------
    Philip Hamm
    AIM: PhilBiker
     
  14. Erwin

    Erwin Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 1999
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The ProScan 8680Z, some RCA, Apex, and PC DVD-ROM are the only players in which I have seen acceptable seamless layer changes. I really feel like this is an important feature that should be on all players. I mean, come on, we no it's possible. But instead, companies are more concerned about the mp3 feature (which I have nothing against, mp3 is good).
    I am an impatient person at times and I am very picky with certain things. However, stuff like a DVD missing the directors commentary or "the making of..." is not going bother me.
     

Share This Page