What's new

What's up with Newform Research? (1 Viewer)

AlanZ

Screenwriter
Real Name
AJ
These speakers seem to be very well regarded from what I can tell from the limited number of reviews I've read. Does anyone own these things? If so, what has your experience been?

Tony Genovese

Supporting Actor
If you're in to home theater, they don't really lend themselves to a center channel. In fact, they tout running a phantom center, which limits their appeal. Additionally, they're rather awkward looking, take up a lot visual space, and rear channel placement can be a chore. Thus they're really best in a dedicated two channel setup which limits their market.

AlanZ

Screenwriter
Real Name
AJ
Do you have any idea how they sound, though? I have been running a phantom center for a couple years now, so that's not a big deal to me. They are kinda goofy looking, but I can deal......I'm just looking to find other stuff to consider instead of just defaulting to bigger Magnepans. I have MMGs now and will probably end up just moving to either the 1.6 or 3.6, but I'd like to at least look at a few alternatives before making the decision. My only issue with the Maggies is the off-axis horizontal dispersion. I may be able to remedy that with their new center channel, but if particular model speaker can do it w/out the use of a center I'd like to add it to my short list. So far I have the Gallo Reference 3, bigger Maggies, and some Bohlender-Graebener 520's.

Eric:F

Stunt Coordinator
if you are looking for that transparent "ribbon" sound, then you need to check these out:
http://www.salksound.com/htshome.html
Jim Salk is a pleasure to work with and offers a $ back guaranty.
i wanted maggies or electrostats for my front soundstage but could't handle the waf or cost factors.
i now have the Salk HTS-MTMs and the ht sound is superb.
Jim offers custom designs at reasonable prices.
best,
eric

Robert Cowan

Supporting Actor