Paradigm Advice--New System with some $$

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by James_D_A, Feb 15, 2001.

1. James_D_A

James_D_A Auditioning

I will purchase a new speaker system soon, but first some background on what I will be setting up/already have:
    Equipment already in hand:
    -Rotel RSP-985 THX Ultra PreAmp
    -Rotel 991 and 993 Amps at 200Wpc into 8 Ohms
    -Bettercables.com Premium Interconnects
    -Infocus LP350 Projector at 1300 ANSI Lumens and 1024x768XGA with DLP
    Room for system:
    -Unfinished 14ft * 20ft (no ceiling yet, paint, or even doors)
    Speaker time!:
    Research and background:
    - I have been researching speakers for about 2 months. NewForms look interesting, but after hearing a friends, they are simply not what I want (personal pref I guess). So, I continue looking and find Dunlavy's at a local shop. These things sound pretty darn good (wonderful imaging in the "sweet spot", good clarity, etc.). The problem with the Dunlavy's (besides their price/performance) is the extremely narrow sweet spot--I will have many people listening to music/watching movies in this room. Therefore, Dunlavy's seem out of the question.
    - I also listened to B&W's, but their price performance is way out of line. I didn't even like the sound until we were looking at $14,000 for center/main/rears. That is JUST the speakers. Now, I could afford that, but sure as heck don't want to come near that price point.
    Paradigms to the "rescue":