What's new

What to do with a non paying client? (1 Viewer)

Andrew Pratt

Senior HTF Member
I had a pronto client living in fairfax Virginia that I've been working with for several years as he's a custom installer. He'd contract me to do all the pronto's in the clients house he was installing into so I've done over 16 remotes for this guy. Anyway he's always been slow to pay me and I've had to nag a lot on occasion to get paid. Well he's now 6 months past due on the remaining $600 US he owes me and he isn't replying to my emails or voice messages on his cell phone. I know he very likely just got divorced and he moved out of the house (his home number isn't working anymore and it doesn't give a new number) I've tried implying that if he doesn't pay I'll take it to the next step but honestly I'm not really sure what that would be. I figure there's got to be a small claims type court but how does that work when you're out of state (and country!)?

Eric_L

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Eric
I would suggest that it really isn't worth the trouble. With you being in another country, him being transient and probably a breath away from chapter 7, it is just not worth it. Send it to a collection agency if you wish and you may get half someday, otherwise live and learn.

Or you could hire some think-necked goons to knee-cap him!

Andrew Pratt

Senior HTF Member
You're likely right that its not going to be worth the effort on my part but it still ticks me off that he'd do this to me given how long we've been working together.

Ryan Tsang

Second Unit
Sorry to hear that. Just live and learn. I lost $1100 last year on ebay. Your time is too valuable.

Bob Graz

Supporting Actor