What is audio upsampling?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by GregBe, Apr 6, 2005.

  1. GregBe

    GregBe Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought a HK DPR 2005 and it has this feature that I am unfamiliar with. Here is how the owners manual describes it. "When this feature is turned off, digital sources are processed at their native sampling rate. For example, a 48kHz digital source will be processed at 48kHz. However, the DPR 2005 allows you to upsample the incoming 48kHz signals to 96kHz for added resolution...Note that this feature is only available for the Dolby Pro Logic II Movie and Music modes"

    Greg
     
  2. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting.. I'm not a big fan of dithering audio. But intersting. I would be curious as to the results if tried?
     
  3. GregBe

    GregBe Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just set it up late last night, and have not had time to play with it yet, but I will let you know what differences in sound that I hear.
    In the meantime, if anyone can tell me what I should be listening for, I would appreciate it.

    Greg
     
  4. amatala

    amatala Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same option on my H/K AVR430. It only works when DPLII or DPLIIx processing is used.
    I have tested this option on PCM 48K signals and the sound seems to be richer (wider soundstage) when upsampling is on. It is true that the improvement is quite subtile, but I always keep the upsampling feature turned on.
     
  5. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Man DSP and A/D stuff has come a long way hasn't it????
     
  6. Lewis Besze

    Lewis Besze Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 1999
    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    It certainly won't add more resolution,it is more of a "upconversion" to the DSP chip's native processing rate which is probably 24/96,so it can work easier,so no other conversion is required.
     

Share This Page