webtv user would like to go to HTPC suggestions

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mike Click, Feb 3, 2003.

1. Mike Click

Mike Click Stunt Coordinator

I have no knowledge of computers, I would like to break from webtv. DVI connection not on HDTV 38 inch RCA. VGA adapter or PQ quality cable S-Video connection?

I wouldn't want it to be easy to heat, I already have one fan running 24/7/365 in HDTV. I am not into gaming, PM or board suggestions appreciated.

2. Brian Ruth

Brian Ruth Supporting Actor

Mike:

They're a tad expensive, but since you said you don't really play games much, you can get an entry level Alienware Navigator system. They should do just about everything you want in a HTPC, without the trouble of building one yourself or using the oversized competing Media Center PCs on the market. It's worth a look:

[​IMG]

3. Mike Click

Brian only PC from Alienware was the 3.06 GHz., in my post I asked for a low to heat PC. 3.06 GHz seen would replace the central heating system. Any others in the 2.2 GHz. range, it doesn't even have to say "Good Morning Dave"~Independance Day [​IMG]

4. Camp

Camp Cinematographer

Mike,

Try this direct link to the Alienware Navigator Brian was talking about: http://www.alienware.com/main/system.../navigator.asp

The base CPU is a 2.53 Ghz P4 for $1697. If that's too much for you Alienware is usually willing to make more serious substitutions if you phone them.

5. Brian Ruth

Mike: Camp's right. Just click Media Center Systems for the basic Alienware Navigator. It doesn't have a DVD-R drive, but it has just about everything else you need in a HTPC. You can ask them about heat produced, but my guess is that it doesn't produce as much heat as a similar desktop. I'm not really sure though.

Good luck with your search... [​IMG]

6. Mike Click