What's new

Video DAC's how much of a difference? (1 Viewer)

John-Miles

Screenwriter
Im not an electrical engineer.... but I do understand DAC's that being said I am wondering what kind of a noticable difference various DAC's provide in DVD players. for example I have seen some 54MHz 10 and 12 bit DAC's as well as some players with 108MHz 12-bit DAC's. Obviously the 12 bit 108MHz is preferable, but how mucha re you losing out with a 10-bit 54MHz?
some explanination please :)

Jagan Seshadri

Supporting Actor
Short answer: 54MHz/10-bit DAC is probably all you need.
Long answer:
Any time that processing is applied to a digital signal, mathematical operations are performed on the digital data. If you represent the signal using 'bare minimum' requirements, then it is quite likely that digital signal processing will end up throwing away information that would otherwise be retained in the 9th or 10th bit if those bits were around.
Example: $1.25 (3 significant digits...think of it as 3 'bits')
Digital Processing (Task: divide by two, multiply by two):
$1.25 / 2 = $0.62 (actually $0.625, but we can't store the 5)
$0.62 * 2 = $1.24
So, now we have an error of $0.01 thanks to doing digital processing using the bare minimum bit-depth. If we had allowed another couple of significant digits, the signal information would be retained and we'd end up with:
$0.625 * 2 = $1.25....in other words, no error.
Back to DVDs:
DVDs record the video signal component data [luminance, chrominance(blue), and chrominance(red)..in other words Y'Cb'Cr] with 8 bits per component. Furthermore, the luminance component is has the greatest signal frequencies and must be sampled at 13.5MHz (interlaced). Therefore, the bare minimum DAC requirement for interlaced DVD is 13.5MHz, 8-bits.
Progressive-scan DVDs have double the luminance frequency (double the amount of lines per frame). Therefore, the bare minimum DAC requirement for progressive DVD is 27 MHz, 8-bit.