Upgrading XP Home to XP Pro

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Mark Frank, Apr 17, 2003.

  1. Mark Frank

    Mark Frank Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought a new Dell Dimension that came pre-installed with XP Home. I own a legal CD-ROM of the full version of XP Professional and would like to upgrade.

    Can I use the full XP Professional CD-ROM to perform an upgrade of an existing XP Home install or will it automatically do a "clean" install and wipe out all my pre-installed programs, drivers, etc.?

    I know there are XP Home to XP Pro upgrade CDs, but I don't have one of those, just a full version CD.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Hanson

    Hanson Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    4,781
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Hanson
    Choose to upgrade. It will upgrade the OS without disturbing any programs.

    Because it's the same OS with some NT networking stuff included (or more accurately that Home is the Pro version with stuff taken out), you shouldn't experience any problems with programs not working all of a sudden. I've done it before with company laptops.
     
  3. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hanson,

    Is there anywhere I can find specifically what has been truncated from Pro-- i have seen some technical pages, but nothing too simple on what HOME won't do.

    -Vince
     
  4. Phil Kim

    Phil Kim Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 1998
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  5. Mark Frank

    Mark Frank Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's the domain membership that I need in my particular case.

    I'm off tomorrow for Good Friday, so I'll probably try the upgrade tomorrow.
     
  6. Jeff Peake

    Jeff Peake Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 1998
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  7. Shawn O

    Shawn O Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 1999
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was told by a Dell csr that XP Pro has a built in firewall.Is it true?

    Thanks,
    Shawn
     
  8. Jeff Peake

    Jeff Peake Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 1998
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does have a firewall.

    I have never used it however. I think most users are behind hardware routers with firewalls so it may not be needed.

    Looks easy to use though. You can add/remove ports that are allowed to be open. I dont think it quite as full featured as ZoneAlarm.
     
  9. Dalila

    Dalila Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your main differences: This is what XP PRO gives you:

    Security (biggie)
    Encrypting File System - Windows XP Professional supports the Encrypting File System (EFS), which allows you encrypt individual files or folders for local security (File-level access control - Any user with Administrator privileges can limit access to certain network resources, such as servers, directories, and files, using access control lists.

    Automated System Recovery -Love this)Hint ..if you look on the CD-ROM it's in the /valueadd folder).

    Remote Desktop - All versions of Windows XP--including Home Edition--support Remote Assistance, However, only Pro supports the new Remote Desktop feature. Laptop people who need to remotely access their corporate desktop, and remote administration of clients on a network.

    Multi-processor support - Windows XP Pro supports up to two microprocessors, while Home Edition supports only one.

    Dynamic Disk Support - Windows XP Professional supports dynamic disks, but Home Edition does not.

    Home Edition does not include the Logical Disk Manager.

    Fax - Home Edition has no integrated fax functionality out of the box, (hint: it is an option if you look in the CD)

    Internet Information Services/Personal Web Server - Home Edition does not include the IIS Web server 5.1 software found in Pro.

    Group Policy Objects, which are also not available in Home Edition.

    "C2" certification - Microsoft will attempt to have Windows XP Professional certified with the "C2" security designation, a largely irrelevant status, but one which will not be afforded to Home Edition.


    Domain Membership - Home Edition cannot be used to logon to an Active Directory domain. Also, Domain Wizard is not in Home Edition.

    IntelliMirror - IntelliMirror capabilities include user data management; centrally-managed software installation, repair, updating, and removal; user settings management; and Remote Installation Services (RIS), which allows administrators to remotely install the OS on client systems.

    Roaming profiles - This feature allows users to logon to any computer in an Active Directory network and automatically receive their customized settings.

    Multi-language support - Only Pro Has it.

    Sysprep support - Windows XP Pro will support the System Preparation (Sysprep) utility, while Home Edition will not.


    As for the firewall that it comes with... its not too hot. It does not stop outgoing info. So disabled it, and use a good firewall.

    Also, I never do upgrades, it is always best to do a clean install of an OS. However, if your info is non recoverable, or you have no way to back it up... then okie dokie [​IMG]

    Hope this helped.
     
  10. Mark Frank

    Mark Frank Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In case anyone is curious, I performed the upgrade on Friday and it went off without a hitch. I applied XP SP1 afterwards and everything looks great - none of my settings or files were affected at all.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  11. Phil Kim

    Phil Kim Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 1998
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  12. Lyle_JP

    Lyle_JP Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  13. Phil Kim

    Phil Kim Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 1998
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  14. Lyle_JP

    Lyle_JP Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Perhaps because it's not considered secure to be able to see a list of valid usernames in a domain environment. Also, I believe the Switch User functionality and the Graphical Login Screen are somehow connected.

    -Lyle J.P.
     

Share This Page