What's new

Ultralink S-video to Composite conversion cable (1 Viewer)

Ben_wood

Stunt Coordinator
Hi, I just saw an ad for Ultralink Products and they have a cable I'm interested in. Its a s-vhs to composite converter cable. I need a cable like this because my T.V. (a JVC AV-32320) has video input jacks on the back for component cables and s-video only. The only composite video jack on my TV is on the front of the set (which is fine for hooking up a camcorder), but I don't want a video and two audio cables permanently installed up front. Any way this seems to be a good way for me to hook my VCR to my receiver and then use another s-video cable to my TV. I'm new to HT and would appreciate any thoughts or advice you can give me. Are there another companies making a cable like this? Is anyone in the HTF using this connect? And finally, does anyone know where I can order this cable? Thanks in advance!

Bill Kane

Screenwriter
The only composite video jack on my TV is on the front of the set (which is fine for hooking up a camcorder
JVC features list shows two sets of RCA composite inputs, presumably one of which is in back: red/white audio and yellow video???

These VCR questions are always a brain-teaser because there are always several ways to go. You may not need this Ultralink cable. But first, you're getting a tv signal from an incoming RF coax cable, right? Are you using a DVD player? Might tell us the receiver brand/model.

orig. post edited

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Hi Ben.

At Radio Shack the sell a little $20 converter that will convert Composite to SVideo. A number of people use this to run SVideo from all devices through their receiver, then a single SVideo cable to the TV.

The quality is not great, but for tapes it works ok. (One of the most expensive parts of your TV is the "Comb Filter". It's job is to convert Composite to SVideo).

Hope this helps.

Ben_wood

Stunt Coordinator