What's new

Transferring digital video from camcorder to computer to DVD suggestions.... (1 Viewer)

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
I am totally new at this so please bear with me...

I just bought a Sony High Definition camcorder
that records high definition video to digital videotape.

Now....

I need to get the video off of the camcorder and
onto my hard drive so I can burn it to DVD.

Let's start with some questions about the process....

1. Is the process almost like dragging a file from
camcorder to computer?

2. The camcorder comes with USB cable to transfer to
a computer (I have USB2), but would I be better off
buying firewire cable? Is the speed that much faster?

Now let's talk software...

I am not concerned about the price of the software
that I need to edit and burn over the fact that I
am a novice and need something that is simple to
understand.

I need software that will downconvert the HD video
to SD before I burn to DVD.

That same software should allow me to add titles
and custom fades.

That same software should be easy to use.

Can anyone recommend anything?

Thanks in advance.

Joseph DeMartino

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joseph DeMartino
I'm surprised the Sony didn't come with basic editing software that would also handle transfer. My Canon did. Basically you connect up the camcorder and play back the tape in real-time (because even though it is digital, digital tape is a linear medium, so you can't just transfer a file) and it gets recorded to the hard drive. Then you use the editing software to tweak it and set the parameters to burn the DVD. My Canon is not hi-def, but the process should otherwise be very similar. I believe the current versions of Sonic MyDVD and Nero's burning suite are HD capable and should do everything you need to do. I have the non-HD versions of both.

Regards,

Joe

Jon_Are

Senior HTF Member
Software-wise, I use Pinnacle Studio 9.