Total Newbie, Which Cables Will I Need?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dave_Mu, Dec 6, 2002.

1. Dave_Mu

Dave_Mu Extra

I finally got the go-ahead from the wife to set up a home theater... and she is actually excited about it. I've got a little over 2000.00 total to spend, so it will be a modest setup compared to most I read about here, but it is a start.

I've read and read here and I think I'm going with the following...

Samsung 32" HDTV
    Pioneer VSX-D811S
    Panasonic DVD-RP82
    JBL NSP1 II Set
    Sony SA-WM40

I have DirecTV and a PlayStation 2 that will come along for the ride... I admit, I still like to play video games.

Keep in mind, I am a total newbie to this... so I need some help. What cables do I need to hook all this stuff up? If you can recommend any budget brands of cables that will do a good job please don't hesitate to let me know that as well.

Thanks

2. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

Hi Dave. Welcome to HTF! [​IMG]
    I strongly suggest you pick a saturday morning to do all this. Get your electronics installed, take measurements and then go to the store for cables. (Yes, I know you want to buy them in advance, but... it's better to have them all installed first to get the correct lengths.)
    You can buy in advance some speaker wire, wire labels and a surge-supressing power strip.
    Cable Concepts
    We are going to put the speaker wires down low, pull the power cords to one side and let the interconnects hang loosly down the middle. This makes 3 separate bundles. You can bundle the wires with velcro strips or split-loom tubing, but dont try to make tight bundles. It's not good for the cables or your signals. Loose, but tidy is what you are after.
    Rack Layout
    - Put the receiver on the bottom shelf. You dont touch it normally (you use the remote). This allows those heavy speaker wires to flow out onto the floor without obscuring the other devices.