Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Reviewer
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
The Philosophy.

An HTF member recently posted a truism about audio enthusiasts. It states that they tend to fall into one of two categories. Those who buy music so they can play it on their stereo, and those who buy a stereo so they can listen to their music. I definitely lean toward the latter group, and ever since my early teens have been an audio enthusiast, because I love music. An interest that would soon evolve to include movies. That interest often involved buying whatever equipment was available right now. What I could afford right now. So, like a lot of enthusiasts, money was often spent on gear that didn’t stick around all that long. I actually owned my first pair of “good” speakers (JBL 4311s) from when I was too young to drive until I graduated from College. That was a decent investment. Then as I entered the working world, the changes came more often. A pair of Mission 707s for a year or two, followed by Klipsch Fortés for about three more years. It was at that time I decided to take a different approach, since my goal is focused more on enjoying what the equipment brings than on the equipment itself.