What's new

Subwoofer in the Ceiling (1 Viewer)

Eric_L

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Eric
Though I'm no expert, my first reaction is that's a bad idea.

You want a sub on a solid base, particularly if you want to 'feel' the rumble or punch.

If it is in the ceiling, I would presume that the wood beams would act almost like shock absorbers, reducing the overalll effect. You would lose some of the speakers output plus the cabinet itself would not resonate as well.

The 'rumble' of your woofer would be carried through your ceiling rather than your floor, so you'd not feel them as much. (though anyone UPISTAIRS might!)

I'm sure theres plenty more I'm missing, and I may be incorrect, but IMHO I think you'd be happier the traditional way.

I should ask, for other posters, why you'd want to do that.

Jeffrey Noel

Screenwriter
Cire, go into the DIY section of this forum and search for IB or Infinite baffle subs. You can make one heck of a sub using your attic space or a closet.

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
Eric I will have to very much disagree with you.
You do not what a sub's cabinet to resonate, you want it as dead as possible. You only what the driver transferring energy into the room.
A proper manifold properly connected to joists would have no shock absorber effects. If you mount in opposed pairs you won't transfer any mechanical enegry to the joists.
The air movement does the shaking. Won't matter if it's on the roof or floor, if it can move enough air to shake the floor it will.
Finally, Jeffrey has lead Cire in the right direction. Many people whos' ears I very much trust consider an infinite baffel sub the ultimate in sound quality (second only to a dipole sub). I want an infinite baffel, and I do intend to make one happen. Hopefully in the not to distant future. If you can do an infinite baffel, you owe it to yourself to build one.
Everything you need to know about an infinite baffel sub can be found here:
http://f20.parsimony.net/forum36475