What's new

Sub Woofer and Mains (1 Viewer)

Doug MacGregor

Stunt Coordinator
I read somewhere here in the last couple of days (can't find it now), where one of your members suggested setting my Mains to Small regardless of their size to get the most out of my Sub, due to the fact that "most Mains are not full-range"
Here is my setup...
I am new to HT so bear with me.

JVC RX6010VBK Receiver
JVC XVS500BK DVD player
Mission M70AS 8" Ported Sub
DIY Mains with Philips drivers (1" cone tweeter, 2" cone Mid, and 10" woofer)
Quest Centre Speaker (Q50c)
Audio Research rears.

I have everything set to "Small" except for the Mains so I assume they are using the standard crossover frequency (whatever that is).
The Sub has a crossover adjustment knob that allows me to adjust from 75-150Hz and I have it set just shy of the half-way mark (probably about 100Hz).
Everything sounds good to these 50 year-old ears, especially the Balrog scene of LOTR.
The living room is large (24X14) with a vaulted ceiling.
Is there an advantage to setting my Mains to small with a crossover of 80Hz?
I thought that the 10" woofers in the Mains could handle pretty low frequencies or, maybe that's not the point.
Can anyone enlighten me on this point?
Thanks in advance.

Doug

Scott Cunninghm

Stunt Coordinator
Great question, I am waiting on the answer as well as I just ordered my first subwoofer.

Right now all my speakers are set for large. I will try them on small once the sub arrives.

Hell, I don't even know what the crossover adjustment or other options are supposed to accomplish on the sub. This will be an interesting thread to watch.

Brian Fellmeth

Supporting Actor
The Sub has a crossover adjustment knob that allows me to adjust from 75-150Hz and I have it set just shy of the half-way mark (probably about 100Hz).