What's new

Sony SA-WM40 vs Yamaha YST-SW205 (1 Viewer)

Alfonso

Agent
Sony SA-WM40 or Yamaha YST-SW205? My living room is about 10*10 feet and I intend to use the sub to HT only. Either way I'm going to buy a sub next monday. :)
Thanks.

Todd Christ

Stunt Coordinator
haven't heard the yamaha that you're referring to - but i can say that i'm rather impressed with the Sony! i got it just this past week for $134 TO THE DOOR from http://my.sony.com :D
amazing how good things sound now!!!

LowellG

Stunt Coordinator
"i got it just this past week for $134 TO THE DOOR from "

How do you like the Sony? I am debating whether to buy one or not.

Jeff-Watson

Stunt Coordinator
I have been using the Sony for a few months and man what a great sub. Plenty of kick your butt bass and goes low to about 28hz which for a $150 is a steal of a deal. Buy the Sony and you wont regret it.

Andrew Pierce

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Andrew Pierce
The Sony is a good sub... for the money. If you can stretch a bit further on the budget, JBL makes a very nice 12" around $300, which is better than the Sony stuffed, but also twice as expensive. If you can approach $500, look at the Hsu VTF-2, and then you're getting into SVS price range (assuming you've got the space). I finally just got around to stuffing my SA-WM40 - got a 20 oz bag of polyfill, stuffed maybe 15 oz in there, and it sounded bad -- constrained, just awful, so I opened her up again and pulled a little less than half out. I'd say I only have 8-10 oz in there and it's somewhat improved now. Still doesn't go much below 30 Hz but it goes 35 pretty good and is audible down just past 30. The main thing the stuffing did though was to damp out the very noticable boominess the sub has, I can't belive I waited so long.

My advice, in that price range, get the Sony and visit a craft store for some polyfill.

Robert_Gaither

Screenwriter