What's new

Small Form Factor Computer (1 Viewer)

Chris Souders

Stunt Coordinator
Hi,

I'd like a small computer. I like the shapes of the small form factor ones I see in various places on the internet.
In terms of use.. mainly just internet and word processing. No home theater stuff necessary. Maybe some games.
I want it to be as quiet as possible.
I'm not sure I have many other needs....
Would one recommend I buy a prebuilt unit? If so, particular brands? Or build one? I'm a novice here...

Thanks for suggestions.
Chris

Kyle McKnight

Senior HTF Member
You could always build yourself a very small mini-itx computer. You wont be doing much gaming on it (and what you will be wont be current). Check out http://www.mini-itx.com You can build a fanless small system, just be lacking in raw power which you say you're not after. I plan to build a couple myself.

Kimmo Jaskari

Screenwriter
I'd go with a Shuttle of some kind. There are several types and looks to choose from, depending on what you want inside it (performance-wise.)

http://us.shuttle.com/

Mac minis are pretty enough I guess but if games are any kind of priority, you want a PC.

If the Internet access and word processing bit is the vast majority of what you do, if you have no pre-existing PC software licenses or games you want to use and games are an afterthought then perhaps the Mac might be right for you after all.

Joe Szott

Screenwriter
Real Name
Joe S.
Why not get a laptop if games aren't a concern? Not only is it small and all in one, but it can go with you.

Seth--L

Screenwriter

Agreed.

I was going to say the Mac mini, but when you take into account a monitor, mouse and keyboard, it's not nearly as self contained as a laptop (though still quite small).

Kimmo Jaskari

Screenwriter
Yeah, but who wants to use a laptop keyboard if you can avoid it? Cramped, bad "feel" to the keys and as non-ergonomic as you can get this side of a medieval torture device.