What's new

Seeking Basement Home Theater Design Advice/Opinions (1 Viewer)

MarkHancock

Auditioning
I'm in the process of finishing our basement and want to be able to use the large multi-function room for home theater. I need advice!!! I am a newbie to Home Theater but I am unafraid and I am ready to learn.

The room will be large (20ft x 24ft). If you think of it with the 20ft dimension across the back, then the stairs lead down into the back-left corner, and the front-right corner will have double-doors leading to a mud room that has a walk-out exit. Half way to the front is the main beam of the house that is supported by 2 lally columns which divides that ceiling (8ft) into two halves in which I am putting six recessed lights (for a total of 12). I plan on putting wall sconces along the sides and back to provide indirect light when needed as well as a sconce on either side of the screen.

My plan the buy the equipment for home theater is year(s) away since I have to finish the construction first, but I want to put the infrastructure in place for it now. I know that the "squarish" shape is probable not the traditional shape for home theater but we want to be able to use the space for large group gatherings as well (bible studies, parties, etc.) and ultimately it will probably be mostly a space for our kids to have their friends over (though my wife would also probably classify me as one of the kids too). I suspect that it will only be used occasionally for home theater, but you never know.

Here are some questions: