What's new

Sanyo Z2 - Beginner Needs Help Designing Basement Home Theater! (1 Viewer)

Marc~Q

Auditioning
I am new to the Home Theater world. However, I am diving in head first. I am currently finishing my basement. I need a lot of advice.

Here is what I do know. I have purchased the Sanyo PLV-Z2 projector. My seating will be about 16 feet away from my screen. My screen will be mounted to the wall.

I want a screen that is approx 100 inches wide. How far away from the screen should I mount the projector? How do I calculate the exact dimensions of the screen I need? What brand screen would you recommend?

Any suggestions from those who have been through the process would be appreciated. Thanks.

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
1) Every projector throw distance is different. The manual that came with it, or the sanyo site will have information on their specific lense and throw information. There is a basic calc on projector central here. It looks like with a zoom factor of 1 (not zoomed)-- you'd have a throw of about 15 feet for 100 inches wide @ 16:9. With the zoom, looks like you could get as close as 12 feet...

2) I built my screen from material used to line drapes... because i needed, essentially, neutral gain- it worked great. Since you are using such a big screen with a projector of 800 lumens, you might need a screen with real gain (In comparison, my prjector is about 800 lumens rated, and I use a 72 inch wide screen-- and mine is probably about perfect for brightness with a neutral screen- so to add 30 inches in width you're gonna lose serious brightness).

You could consider building, but at that size you will have trouble finding cheap material that is big enough-- and will have trouble with gain. A brand to look into is Stewart, but expect to spend a couple hundred bucks.