Samsung HD receiver Remote

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Cameron Yee, Sep 10, 2003.

  1. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,831
    Likes Received:
    720
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    Does anyone know why my learning remote won't learn the codes from my Samsung HD receiver (SIR T-151)? Or happen to know how to make the Samsung remote work for Toshiba televisions? There were no codes for Toshiba in the manual.
     
  2. Nathan_R

    Nathan_R Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2000
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Samsung remotes (and HD receivers, and HDTVs) are notorious for being incompatible with *multibrand* remotes.
    I cannot get my Sammy HDTV to respond to a DISH remote, nor can I get the Sammy remote to control the DISH receiver. Blah.

    Best regards,
    ~~Nathan

    (Edit: corrected bad remote terms)
     
  3. Mark Murphy

    Mark Murphy Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whatever you do, don't lose that remote. I inquired about replacing a remote for my SIR-T150 and Samsung told me that it was $78.50 plus S/H. The OTA HD box definitely makes watching feel "old school". I have to get up and change the channels manually and fix the antenna. I asked Samsung if they make another component remote (DVD, TV, etc.) that would control the box, because they are always available on Ebay, but I was again offered a replacement for $78.50.
     
  4. Hank_P

    Hank_P Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    110
    I disagree. My MX-500 remote operates my Toshiba and Samsung T165 without any problems (along with my receiver, zektor switcher, DVD, and cablebox). I "taught" the MX-500 all the Samsung codes and it had no problems learning them.

    I never did try to let the TV remote or Samsung learn from the other as I was in the process of purchasing the MX-500. You never did specify which "learning remote" you have.

    Hank
     
  5. Nathan_R

    Nathan_R Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2000
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Allow me to rephrase, as I made a mess of my terms and spewed out some bad information:

    The Samsung remotes do not control non-Samsung devices very well, nor do many of the *multibrand* remotes packaged with hardware (like a multifunction Dish Network Remote, Sony dvd remote, Panny HDTV remote, etc.) handle Samsung products well.

    I did not mean to lump learning/universal remotes with multibrand ones.

    All of the Prontos I've ever owned have handled Sammy products *pretty* well, but the Samsung remotes have very limited multibrand libraries from what I've gathered and rarely operate any of my equipment reliably.

    Sorry about that.
    [​IMG]
    ~~Nathan
     

Share This Page