What's new

Samsung.....A Legitimate Player??? (1 Viewer)

Greetings:

I plan to buy a big-screen HDTV in the next few months and need some advise. My budget for this will be around $4,000 and a few friends and co-workers have been recommending Pioneer Elite, Sony, or Mitsubishi. However, I have heard good things about Samsung and the few that I have seen appear to be pretty nice. To be honest though, it's hard to get too excited over a company that sells refrigerators along with HDTV's. That's right...refrigerators. Saw several Samsung's at Best Buy yesterday when I took the wife over to look for a new refrigerator. In any event, I am hoping that some of you will be kind enough to offer me some insight on this since I am a novice. Also, should I stick to the 4:3 format or go with the wide-screen 16:9?

Thanks........Peter

Stuart Kinzel

Auditioning
From the time I've spent lurking here and just from personal opinion, I'd say go with the 16:9. Eventually HDTV programming will be the norm and I believe it will be in the 16:9 format. As far as Samsung, I'm hoping I kind find one of the Samsung DLP sets to go look at. As far as I can tell, Sears is the only Samsung dealer close to me and I don't remember seeing to many Samsung logos in the TV section. Of course I was mostly looking for Pioneer, Sony or Mitsubishi logos, so I could have missed it. Supposedly the DLP set have some issues with eye strain and possible motion nausea. Since my wife is prone to these conditions I want her to look at one (and not just out of a desire to make see her get sick :) ) If I can find one, hopefully I'll be able to decided between the Samsung DLP and Sony LCD sets.

Mike I

Supporting Actor
If you are interested in HD, the Baltimore market has a lot of HD offerings..All HD is in the 16.9 format, if that helps you narrow your choice between 16.9 vs 4.3...

Steve Schaffer

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Schaffer