What's new

Rp91 -vs- RP56 (1 Viewer)

WilliamB

Stunt Coordinator
Forgive yet another request for information/advice. I'm still fairly new at this but thanks to the good folks at this forum am learing rapidly. My questions are:
How do you tell if a disk is film sourced? Is this analogous to anamorphic? My dvd library is primarily anamorphic disks.
My issue is this. It appears that the benefit of the Sage chip is relative to video sourced material. So, would the RP91 give me a better pic with anamorphic disks (enought so to justify the $$) RPTV is a Tosh 56x81.
I bought the RP56 and am happy with it but if the RP91 will give me that much "more" will gladly spend the $$. Soneone also mentioned that the Tosh SD5700 was better for film sourced DVD than the RP56. Any truth to that?
Many thanks for your enlightenment:D

David X

Stunt Coordinator
I don't think there's really a way to tell, but if you're happy with the RP56, which is a great player and don't need the scaling features of the RP91, you should stick with the RP56. I need the scaling features of the RP91 because my 16:9 Mitsu 65905 locks into "expand" or "full" mode with a progressive signal. Thus, in order to display native 4:3 material on my monitor, the dvd player has to scale or zoom the material for me, else the people will all look "fat" on the screen, and the 4:3 material won't be displayed in its original aspect ratio. If you have a widescreen monitor that allows you to change widescreen formats with a progressive scan signal, then you probably don't need the scaling features of the RP91.I don't know anything about your Toshiba tv, but I think I remember reading that most Toshiba owners don't have the progressive lock-up issue that many Mitsu owners have to deal with.