What's new

RG60 and basic Pro install (1 Viewer)

Jay H

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jay
6th Ave is having a special with free pro installation that I might just take advantage of. Not that installation should be hard in my house (our house is already prewired with RG59 from an outside OTA antenna (no cable) so running the RG60 required should be a breeze. But since it's included, I'll let the guy climb on the roof and set up the sat. signal. What kind of wire is the guy going to use, is it going to be
the kind of wire that I hear is recommended, which is RG60/quad shielded or something like that or is there a ACME brand RG60 that he is going to use.. Should I buy my own and have him just use it?
Jay
------------------
HUGBEES! Link Removed
Rider in the 2001 Alaska AIDS Vaccine Ride
Wanna Link Removed

Howard Williams

Supporting Actor
I'm no expert but I think you're suppose to use RG6 for DBS systems. Something about less signal loss and better shielding, I think. I never heard of RG60. I've heard of RG59 though which is regular coaxial cable, primarily designed for cable television.
------------------
"Hand over the remote and nobody gets hurt !!"

Jay H

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jay
Oops, you're right Howard, I meant RG6, not RG59... We have just plain broadcast TV in our house and the only reason I'm getting a dish is for OLN. Then for Cartoon network, Discovery Channel, Nat Geo., and Cartoon Network.
There is some kind of special "quad-shielded" or some term like that for RG6 which might not be something the installer is going to use, they'd use the cheapest one that works. I'm wondering if I should buy my own and have the guy use it...
BTW, for a two receiver hookup, the second receiver is connected from the main (dual LNMB) receiver or from the satellite?
How about the Ant. I'm not planning on buying local stations , do we connect our existing antenna to the satellite dish or do we have to run two parallel coax cables to the TV/dish receiver?
Jay