1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Power Distribution for a Server Rack

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by dorito777, Jan 4, 2018.

  1. dorito777

    dorito777 Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Dori
    I am going to be moving into my new home soon and wanted to get prepared for a server rack I have been putting together over the last few months. The rack is a large 42U server rack from Tripp Lite. So far, I have the following components in the rack:
    • NETGEAR Orbi Whole Home Mesh WiFi System with Tri-band (Although this may sit in a distribution hub downstairs)
    • ARRIS SURFboard SB6190 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (Although this may sit in a distribution hub downstairs)
    • Furman PL-PLUS DMC Power Conditioner with Voltmeter / AMMeter
    • Custom Built NAS for Plex (FreeNAS)
      • Chassis - Supermicro 846BE16-R1K28B
      • Motherboard - Supermicro MBD-X10SRH-CLN4F-O
      • Memory - Crucial 16GB ECC RDIMM DDR4-2400 x2 (32GB)
      • CPU - Intel Xeon E5-1640 v4
      • Boot Drive - Samsung 850 Evo 120GB
      • HDD - 8x WD Red 4TB's (Expandable to 24 drives)
    • TP-Link 24-Port Gigabit Ethernet Unmanaged Rackmount Switch (TL-SG1024)

    When I move into the new house, I will be adding in the following components:
    • PS4 Pro (x2)
    • AV Receiver (Haven't picked one out yet, but it will be a powerful 7.2+ receiver capable of 4k passthrough, HDR, and all the bells and whistles)
    • NVIDIA Shield
    • Nintendo Switch (Possibly?)
    • HDHomeRun Connect Quattro
    • Possibly more components based on automation, custom remote control systems, or video games requirements

    The server rack will sit in the closet of a home theater room. I have the power conditioner to keep the power clean going into the components (something I read was a benefit, especially for AV receivers). My question is how I should be protecting the equipment and what I should purchase to provide power distribution and useful functionality to the server rack. I have seen many versions of PDUs for TrippLite racks online, but I am not sure how to configure it. Should I purchase a large vertical PDU and plug that into the power conditioner? Should the power conditioner be plugged directly into the wall? Or should I do the opposite....only the receiver goes into the power conditioner, which goes to the PDU, which goes to the wall....and the rest of the components just go to the PDU directly? I want to have an idea of how to set this up beforehand, so when we get to the house, I can plug things in without having to rerun wires and reconfigure things multiple times. Thank you!
     
  2. dorito777

    dorito777 Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Dori
    Here is what I was PLANNING to do and people can correct me if I am wrong.

    I was planning to purchase a large vertical TrippLite (or another recommended brand) power strip. I was planning on plugging this into the power conditioner and then plugging all of the components into the power strip. The power conditioner would be plugged into the wall directly. If/when I ever end up purchasing an UPS, I would plug the power conditioner into the UPS and the UPS would be plugged into the wall.

    Does this make sense or should I switch things around?
     
  3. dorito777

    dorito777 Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Dori
    Does anyone have any feedback on this or have a recommended forum I could post this on to get the help I need? I want to make sure I do this properly.
     
  4. dorito777

    dorito777 Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Dori
    Is there a forum or advice mechanism where I can get this information from? I don't want to drop hundreds of dollars on equipment that is either unnecessary or will harm my configuration.
     
  5. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    19,437
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    I can’t really answer your questions but I can give a practical example. I have a professionally installed home theater, comparatively modest as these things go.

    The installer installed new dedicated circuit breakers in the main panel for the room. At the equipment closet, there’s the one power cord going to the rack, which connects to a Power Conditioner. All the electronics plug into the power conditioner. It’s a Panamax, the MR5100 I think.


    “MR5100 Power Management | Panamax | #1 in power protection”
    http://www.panamax.com/product/mr5100-power-management-MR5100
     
  6. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    19,437
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    i do not have a UPS on the theater room. If there’s a power loss, I’m not concerned about trying to keep the theater up and running. Having a UPC on the media computer would be nice, but not critical.

    I’ve been considering putting a UPC on the house’s core internet “modem”and router. I’ve read that’s useful in keeping home WiFi running despite a short term power loss.
     

Share This Page