What's new

Real Estate post 9/11 (1 Viewer)

John Tillman

Supporting Actor
Just want to start a discussion about Real Estate in your area in the post 9/11 aftermath.
I've noticed that my area (Huntington, LI) for this time of year, has more residential for sale signs out for this time of year. Its not a flood of properties on the market, but about 10 to 20 percent more. Properties are selling, except for the ridiculously overpriced.
I'm trying to figure if the activity is just a NYC suburbia thing due to the 9/11 shock factor, or an economy thing as well, lower rates etc. I'm not a professional R/E person, just a homeowner wanting to know what the national trend is at this time.

Henry Carmona

Screenwriter
Real Name
Henry Carmona
Interesting John,
This too concerns me slightly. I recently put a piece of property on the market.
It is located in a pretty well-to-do area of NW San Antonio. The recent events had no bearing on my decisin to sell, but i do wonder if it will affect my potential to sell it.
It doesnt seem to bad though, last month 3 properties in the same area sold for an average of about $42,000.00, 2 are pending and 1 other is on the market besides mine.
I hate selling it, but i will love the savings when i pay off some bills :)
------------------
RobertDuvall.jpg
"Charlie don't surf."
[Edited last by Henry Carmona on November 12, 2001 at 01:26 AM]

Philip_G

Senior HTF Member
sounds like a good time to buy, the prime rate is rock bottom, should make for some financing bargains.

Bill Catherall

Screenwriter