Problem programming macros on universal remote

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Steven_ R, Oct 25, 2002.

  1. Steven_ R

    Steven_ R Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2000
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK - I did it! I programmed my brand new RS - 2104 remote with several advanced codes and two macros. Very exciting, BUT, the macros only work properly when I'm first turning the power on to all my devices. I set up one to watch DVDs and one to watch cable TV. Each macro includes the "power" command for the receiver and TV and either the DVD or cable box, as the case may be. But, what do I use when I have the system devices turned on and set to say cable, and then want to switch to DVD. When I run the macro for DVD, then, of course the macro switches the TV and receiver off. Do I need separate macros to run when the system is already powered on vs. off? What am I doing wrong?

    This programming stuff is both exciting and frustrating at the same time.

    Thanks.

    Steve
     
  2. jeff peterson

    jeff peterson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 1998
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  3. Steven_ R

    Steven_ R Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2000
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Jeff. I'll look through my code sheets to see if there are discrete on/off switches.

    Steve
     

Share This Page