Plate amp input question...

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Jack Gilvey, Feb 2, 2004.

  1. GrahamT

    GrahamT Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I could be wrong here but maybe you could just connect two channels to one set of the input terminals. The signals are all combined anyways and it wont hurt anything to try. I dont see why this wouldn't work unless someone else has another suggestion.
     
  2. Brian Bunge

    Brian Bunge Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jack,

    I can't answer your question, but would like to ask one of my own. What are you trying to accomplish? [​IMG]
     
  3. Aaron Gilbert

    Aaron Gilbert Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    This is a bad idea, as you would be connecting the receiver's/amplifier's left and right outputs to each other. While it may not hurt anything, as most solid state devices have protection circuitry built-in to prevent damage from this, I wouldn't take the chance.

    Unfortunately, I do not have another suggestion, so I am with Brian and am curious what you are trying to accomplish, Jack? [​IMG]


    Aaron Gilbert
     
  4. Jack Gilvey

    Jack Gilvey Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 1999
    Messages:
    4,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. ThomasW

    ThomasW Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jack,


    Sort of difficult, if what you're talking about is summing the bass from all 3 L>C>R speakers.

    Marchand and Paradigm X-30's will sum the bass from the L&R channels. That's what I do in my HT since I don't like the sub out from the pre/pro. This leaves the center to run fullrange. Not a loss of much bass since it's primarily a dialog channel anyway.

    For a 4 channel surround the only way to do this and not have the sound quality suffer big time, is to use 2 active XO's that sum the L&R LFE signal. In theory you could run the summed LFE out from the front XO to one VC (or driver), and the summed LFE out from the rear/surround XO to a different VC (or driver).
     
  6. Seth_L

    Seth_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. Ryan Schnacke

    Ryan Schnacke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think the schematic for this amp (or one very similar to it) is still available on the apexjr site. Looking at the input stage you'll notice that the only difference between the high-level input path and the low-level input path is that the high-level has a different voltage divider.

    But it sure seems like with the addition of a couple of resistors you could make a low-level input look just like the high-level inputs. The resistors could be mounted externally and the signals would be summed through the first op-amp. This way you could feed up to 4 high-level signals into the amp.

    The usual disclaimers apply - I offer no warranty with my crazy ideas.
     
  8. ThomasW

    ThomasW Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Those do look great, I'm tempted to use some as surrounds in the family room.
    Don't be fooled though, I'm pretty sure Magnepan is expecting the drivers to be used with the appropriate output setting from a pre/pro.
    My MMG's (used as surrounds in the HT) roll-off quickly below ~50Hz. They are the most happy when set to "small" at the pre/pro.
    Since the 'new' Maggies are even smaller than MMG's; I see no way around using some form of active/passive XO, or similar device to separate the frequencies
     

Share This Page