What's new

Paramount & Disney - Torment us fantasy fans no longer! We need DRAGONSLAYER!! (1 Viewer)

chris w-c

Agent
I heard a rumor that this is currently in development for a special DVD release next summer, the same rumor I've been hearing for the past 2 years. I've also heard that many of the scenes that ended on the cutting room floor may now be restored, but I'll take that with a pinch of salt as well. I just wish the fates would smile upon us and give us this DVD already.
This film boasts the best performance as a spellcaster ever, Ralph Richardson as Ulric of Craggenmore. I'm not sure even Ian McKellen's Gandalf in LOTR will top this wonderful portrayal. And of course, the dragon special effects were groundbreaking, and still look better than most of the CGI effects used today. This film deserves to be well documented on a SE DVD for new generations to experience it. It isn't exactly widely available of video....
Post here if you feel the way I do. Also, please post any specific format description or extra features you would like to see in the DVD.
-Chris W-C

Rob Gillespie

Senior HTF Member
This was one of the most requested titles when Paramount conducted a poll here a few months ago. The last word was that the title (along with all the other candidates) was being investigated for possible release.

Steve Christou

Long Member
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Christou
I'd love to have Dragonslayer on DVD, with any extras they can find ofcourse, a commentary and isolated score would be nice.
The dragon Vermithrax Pejorative is still extremely effective, and holds up well against CGI created Draco in Dragonheart.

Dan Hitchman

Senior HTF Member