OK, good folks, does this exist?? Ever??

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Steve_Ch, Jun 2, 2003.

  1. Steve_Ch

    Steve_Ch Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am in the process of revamping my machine, moving to BIG disk, swapping out the CDRW and DVD for a DVD RW, slab in USB 2.0, .., the works. As part of the process, I need to squeeze out another PCI slot. I thought, the obvious candidate is to find a 56K modem and ethernet combo PCI card... To my astonishment, I could not find one any place I looked. There are plenty of "mini PCI" combo cards for laptops, and also Realport ones (Cardbus/PCMCIA form factor), but no vanilla desktop PCI. So far, the only one that I've seen is SIIG has a USB 2.0, Firewire and Ethernet 10/100 combo, but at $90, it's overkill, and a little too steep (my 5 port USB 2.0 expansion cost me $16). Now the obvious solution is to buy a cheapo external 56K fax/modem, either USB or serial (this will be mainly for the very occasional fax, as I am on DSL), but, I am just curious, as I thought a 56K and ethernet combo PCI would be a no brainer...
     
  2. Shane Bos

    Shane Bos Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    never seen one. I also have never used my current modem in the almost 4 years I've had it. I got cable internet when I got this machine haven't dialed up since.
     
  3. RandyObert

    RandyObert Agent

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well to be honest with you I in my years as a tech have not seen that combo for a PC. Sound and Modem yes. My guess is that it is an impractical combo for a PC due to fact that it is possible to have both connections active at one time realistically and that would create a IRQ problem going thru 1 PCI slot such as in a shared dial up connection on a network (this is pretty common)

    You have not really said what it is you have for a MB. I would probably suggest you look a bit deeper into your upgrade however. For the price of just the USB2, and 10/100 card you could have a completely new Motherboard.
    It could have 6 Channel Dolby digital, 10/100, USB2, IEEE1394 Firewire, and still not a single add on card. PLUS you get the benefits of faster bus speeds etc. With the quality of these on board items now days, PCI slots sit vacant in new hotrod systems alot. My NF7-S abit has only one card, my Ti4600 AGP card.

    If you can spell out what it is you have already I am sure that there is more than enough help here to guide you to the correct parts [​IMG]
     
  4. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've never seen that for a PC. If there are any, they're probably very old and possibly proprietary.

    I am a very big proponent of external modems. I even use an external modem with my laptop when I travel because I've found them to be far more reliable in terms of maintaining a connection and throughput than internal modems (built-in or PCMCIA) for whatever reason.

     
  5. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The best way to do this is to buy a PCMCIA PCI card adapter, then buy yourself a PCMCIA Ethernet/Modem combo card. Of course, that will likely cost over $100!

    An external modem (with RS232 port) is the best and most reliable however. Most PCI modems are "WinModems", meaning that the CPU does all the DSP work, which in turn means poor throughput and lost connections every 5 minutes, if you're lucky to get even that.
     
  6. Steve_Ch

    Steve_Ch Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, folks. It's not something that I "need" per se. As I pointed out in my original post, I am on DSL and the modem will be for those once in a blue moon FAX thing, and for all practical purpose, a $10 EBay external modem for insurance is just fine.
    More than anything else, I was surprised, as I know they have ethernet/56K combo for labtop forever, both on mini PCI as well as cardbus/PCMCIA form factor, so there really should not be any technical problem doing it for desktop, I guess there must not be any demand for it.
     
  7. DonRoeber

    DonRoeber Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Mac Powerbook 3400 C has a built-in modem/ethernet port. You can plug either a phone line or network cable into the port, and then choose what you want the port to do. Or you can use a dongle to attach both at the same time. It was a neat idea, I'm surprised Apple stopped using it. Perhaps it was a bear to support.

    I've never seen a combo card for a PC, sorry.
     
  8. Chris Hovanic

    Chris Hovanic Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could go with a USB network adaptor as well.

    Linksys USB network card

    A new MB (as stated b4) would be the way to go if your upgrading your CPU too.
     
  9. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have never heard anything good about any kind of USB network adapter, whether it be Ethernet or modem. Everyone that I know who has used USB for network connectivity (myself included) has had serious connection and latency problems. As soon as they went to a "real" device, the problems went away.

    Be very weary of USB network connectivity.
     
  10. RandyObert

    RandyObert Agent

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dang John wish you hadnt said that, I run a USB Cable Modem. Guess knock on wood for now.
     
  11. Chris Hovanic

    Chris Hovanic Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have never used a usb network device... glad to hear that they are a problem b4 I tried one. Thanks John
     
  12. Thomas Newton

    Thomas Newton Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 1999
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
     
  13. MikeNagy

    MikeNagy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would very very strongly warn you against using a motherboard's onboard audio as the source for your HT setup. My Asus P4PE has "premium integrated audio" and it's total crap. I sold my Audigy MP3+ and optical/coaxial out module because from what I heard elsewhere, onboard sound is "just as good." BIG MISTAKE. It is not "just as good." Stick with the M-Audio or Audigy card and you'll be set.
     
  14. RandyObert

    RandyObert Agent

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My abit NF7-S has onboard 5.1 digital dolby with optical out and it sounds better than my Audigy ever did. Also for the first time my Dolby Digital is working correctly on my Cambridge DT3500 sound system. My desk sounds like the theater [​IMG]
     
  15. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    MikeNagy, the nforce1 or nforce2 motherboards with the Soundstorm 5.1 audio don't have the problems traditionally associated with onboard audio. In fact, they are the most problem-free audio solutions I've ever tried! *knock on wood*
     
  16. RandyObert

    RandyObert Agent

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't believe I am advocating my onboard sound, Sheesh how times change, next thing you know it will be an onboard video card.........
     
  17. MikeNagy

    MikeNagy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, too bad nforce is only for AMD CPU's. [​IMG] Leave it to Intel to prevent any third party from ever marketing anything innovative or worthwhile for their processors.

    I have never heard an nforce hooked up to a real home theater system, so I can't comment on how it sounds. If it's half as good as you guys say it is, it should be worth it, but definitely do not think of getting anything less than that.
     

Share This Page