non-progressive component outputs...can I use them for hooking to HDTV?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff Peake, Jan 7, 2002.

  1. Jeff Peake

    Jeff Peake Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 1998
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an old Sony 550D DVD player...it has component outs, but is not progressive scan.

    I am buying a Pioneer 64" HDTV this month, and it has 2 sets of component inputs. Can I hook up my DVD player using the Component connections...or does the TV expect component video to be progressive scan??

    I have to wait a little while before I upgrade my DVD player. I will probably get that cool new Pioneer model (747?), if it doesnt have hte chroma bug.

    Thanks

    Jeff
     
  2. Elbert Lee

    Elbert Lee Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jeff - Your player does not need to be a progressive scan player. All most all HD ready displays (with an exception of a few) will upconvert your 480i to 480p (Sony's earlier HD ready sets will convert to 960i)

    In fact, if you have a newer HD ready set, the differences may be subtle (on film material) if you upgrade to a newer progressive scan dvd player. Even though you're not missing much, you'll probably still want to get the progressive scan dvd player later on down the line.

    Elbert
     
  3. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. RoyGBiv

    RoyGBiv Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Allan is right. Check the documentation with your TV. My Toshiba has two sets of components in that can accept either interlaced, progressive or HD inputs. My Mitsubishi has one set of components that will accept interlaced or progressive, the other will only accept progressive or HD input but not interlaced.

    SMK
     

Share This Page