What's new

Newbie needs HT connection help! (1 Viewer)

ceejaynj

Auditioning
Real Name
Charles
Newbie here…and I need some help! If I sound somewhat ignorant, it is because I am in the process of setting up my first “true” home theater. So go easy on me! Based on my budget, I have the following equipment:

- Sony STR-DE595 5.1 500W Surround Amp (digital & optical output)

- Magnavox DP170MW8B [COLOR= black]Upconvert [/COLOR]DVD Player (c[COLOR= black]oaxial [/COLOR]Dolby Digital output[COLOR= #333333])[/COLOR]

- Sanyo VCR (still have lots of VHS)

- Teac CD-P1260 CD Player

- Infinity 100W fronts (2)

- JVC 100W center (1)

- Aiwa small surrounds (2)

- No subwoofer

- Non-HDTV (at the moment)

- Non-HD STB (at the moment)

I will be getting an HDTV and subsequent HD-STB sometime next year, but I have to use what I currently have. Let me say that I used to have all my video equipment connected directly to my TV, then the TV was connected to my bookshelf stereo. I just turned on the bookshelf stereo (aux channel) and instant “surround.” Very primitive and not true surround, I know. Gone is the bookshelf stereo and I now have a dedicated Sony 5.1 amp. I have searched the web, but there are so many connection options and opinions, that it has become overwhelming. Even my product manuals are not helping.

Simply put, here is what I am looking to get from my home theater setup: