What's new

Newbie Looking At Recievers (1 Viewer)

Lee M T

Second Unit
Hello everyone. My name is Lee and I'm a newbie to the forum and perhaps a few levels above newbie when it comes to home theater. I'm looking for a new receiver. I apologize in advance for the length. I'm guilty for being overly detailed when I research things.

First I'll let you know what I am planning to do with this future system.

Besides my new TV (Sony 27" FD Trinitron WEGA Flat Screen) this will be, basically, the start of my home theater endeavor. I do currently have an old Pioneer receiver and some floor speakers. The floor speakers will be used by the new receiver until I replace them as well as add the rest of the speaker setup at a later date.

For this receiver, I don't really listen to the tuner much and I don't listen to CD's a whole lot either. I also don't watch movies very often. I mainly just watch sporting events and play video games. I have two of the three game consoles now and the third later. So I range in everything from DD/DTS/DPLII/DPL. I also have Optical Digital capabilities.

So, I'm looking at receivers in the $499 range. So far the ones that have really caught my eye are the Denon AVR-1803 and the Onkyo TX-SR600. Both, I believe, have everything I need with room to spare for the future.

I have four questions:

1.) Onkyo claims 196Khz/24-bit DAC's for the left and right main speakers and 96Khz on the rest. The Denon has 96Khz on everything. Would the DAC's on the Onkyo really even make a difference? Or is this just a meaningless spec overall?

2.) The Denon's component video inputs/output, I believe, are rated at 27Mhz and the Oknyo has either 50 or 60Mhz. I don't have an HDTV now, but I probably will in the distant future. Should I be concerned with this?

3.) What are your thoughts between the battle of these two receivers?

4.) Is there anything else that I should consider?

Thanks very much!
Lee

Alf S

BANNED
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Alfer