What's new

newbie......dazed & confused (1 Viewer)

Mark Haver

Grip
Hello all. I'm just starting out here and trying to dijest all the mumbo jumbo. This is an awesome site & I have lost many a nigts sleep reading posts. My speakers, receiver, & dvd player are all due to arrive Mon & Tues.(love that ups tracking) this week. I have already set it up & re-wired everything about 25 times in my head. This is my first set up and from what I have read there's alot I have to learn.

Anyway, I'll wait till my system is in & I have read all the paperwork before I start firing all the questions. My wife is worried that I won't be back to work till after this is set up. I feel like a kid on Christmas eve. First question, is this normal or just part of my obsessive compulsive nature??

Mark

Ash Williams

Second Unit
Welcome to the Forum, Mark! Ah, the old wait till equipment arrives. I, like many here I'm sure, have been in those shoes quite a few times. Yes, all the frustration ("It should be here by now!:angry:") is perfectly normal. You will be able to find a wealth of info on this site and a lot of it is in the following thread:
A Primer for Home Theater Newcomers
Vince and a lot of other members have done a wonderful job of organizing it, you should check it out if you haven't already done so.

Lawrence MI

Auditioning
Mark, Noting that you said you've got all the wiring (re)done in your head, here's a simple suggestion that I've found always makes life easier for you and yours -- draw it out first, note the changes you'll invariably make, and be sure to draw a final schematic before you finish your wiring.

Brian Bunge

Senior HTF Member
Mark,

Even more sad is the fact that it gets worse! I have a 2500W amp arriving today to power a huge 18" sub I'm building!

Brian

Dave Nibeck

Stunt Coordinator
Welcome Mark. This HT thing is a nasty, lifelong addiction. It's kinda like golf only more expensive (slightly!).

Just remember, rehab is for quiters!