What's new

New to SACD/DVD-A (1 Viewer)

Nathan Eddy

Second Unit
Okay, I've finally jumped on the hi-rez bandwagon with a used 563a (purchased from this site, thanks Curtis!). I have only one DVD-A (Yes, Fragile) and one SACD (DSOTM) so far. Both of these sound amazing, with plenty of bass. So after reading through old posts here, I'm confused about the bass management issues. Am I missing something? I've actually had to turn my powered subwoofer down from what I'm used to, there's so much bass.

Apparently, the cross-over is not ideal (did a consensus ever develop on what the crossover is? 200? 120? 100?), but I've got three settings on my subwoofer to manually adjust for different frequency outputs (60, 90, 120). So if the internal crossover in the 563a is 200, and I've got my subwoofer manually set for 90, am I losing part of the frequency spectrum? Or is it redirected to my mains? Obviously, I'm a newbie on the whole BM thing. I've never worried about it before. On both the receiver and the player, I've got my mains set to Large and the surrounds/center set to Small. On the receiver, I've got "subwoofer remix" setting set to "on"--which splits the bass between mains/sub during 2 channel playback, but I'm not sure if this has an affect with hi rez since it's going through the analog connects.

I very happy with the sound I'm getting, so I'm not complaining. I just wonder if I missing a tweak or two that could make it even better. Any advice?

p.s. I'm NOT going to spend $200 on an ICBM--that would be over twice what I paid for the player itself. That just seems silly given how pleased I am with the sound now.

Brian L

Senior HTF Member
S&V measured the crossover of the 563 at 200 for DVD-A. I think it was lower (120???) for SACD and DD/DTS. 200Hz is rediculously too high for all but the smallest of main speakers. And most subs have trouble going up that high (and you would not want them to if they did). Makes you wonder what Pio was thinking about.