What's new

New guy looking for an opinion on a deal (1 Viewer)

Shawn E

Auditioning
Hey-
I'm new to the wonderful world of surround systems, and I'm looking to set up one of my own. I've found a deal for the following:

A pair of Klipsch SF-2's
A pair of Klipsch SS-1's
Klipsch SC-1
Velodyne VX10 woofer

for $851 at vanns.com--can't post the actual link, or I would. Also, I found an acoustech system for $799--anyone know anything about these?

Any opinions/recommendations? I'm looking to spend no more than about $1500 on the whole system. I've looked at receivers and just can't figure out where to go with those either. Onkyo? Yamaha? Pioneer? I'd like to go at least 6.1 in case I decide to get a rear center later on. Any advice anyone could offer would be great. Thanks!

Dallas

Stunt Coordinator
"Hey-
I'm new to the wonderful world of surround systems, and I'm looking to set up one of my own. I've found a deal for the following:

A pair of Klipsch SF-2's
A pair of Klipsch SS-1's
Klipsch SC-1
Velodyne VX10 woofer

for $851 at vanns.com--can't post the actual link, or I would. Also, I found an acoustech system for $799--anyone know anything about these?

Any opinions/recommendations? I'm looking to spend no more than about $1500 on the whole system. I've looked at receivers and just can't figure out where to go with those either. Onkyo? Yamaha? Pioneer? I'd like to go at least 6.1 in case I decide to get a rear center later on. Any advice anyone could offer would be great. Thanks!"

To me, I would value a pair of SF-2s for $325, SC-1 for $125, SS-1s for $175 which leaves the value of the sub at $225. Depending upon the quality of the sub I would say $850 is a fair price for that Synergy set-up. (Since these are being replaced with a new Synergy Series, you might try to get them to throw in the SF-3 mains instead of the SF-2's for the $851.)