What's new

Need math help!! Simple problem! (1 Viewer)

Van Patton

Second Unit
OK I'm a freshman in college and it's been a while since I've done this so I'm rusty! The problem is: x^2-1/2x-4. Thanks for the help!

Van Patton

Second Unit
Um........Well it stemmed from this. Here is the original equation.

Given that f(x)=x^2-1 and g(x)=2x-4, find each of the following, if it exists.

(f/g)(x)=

Christ Reynolds

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
CJ
i think it may be asking you to plug in, for every value of x in f(x), g(x). im not sure though, confused by how it is written. but if that is the case, you have (f/g)(x)=[(2x-4)^2]-1. just pretend that g(x), also 2x-4, is x in the f(x) equation, and plug it in, as i did above. you may be asking for something else entirely though :)

CJ

Holadem

Senior HTF Member
(f/g)(x)=

This is f divided by g. There is nothing else to do other than what you already wrote, x^2-1/2x-4, unless you want to attempt long division. I don't see why though.

Also, DYOFHW. I'll let you figure that one out.

--
H

Edwin-S

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Just curious, do you think you will learn to do calculus by having someone else figure out the answers for you?

Edwin-S

Premium
Senior HTF Member

Sorry, but this is a calculus question. It is not as simple as dividing the top by the bottom. It could be a case of substituting g(x) into f(x), but it could also be question that uses f' and g'.

like f/g(x)= f(g'(x)) + f'(g(x)/g(x)^2

I'm not sure if that equation is totally correct. I don't have my calculus text available, and even though I took the course I didn't do too well. I would actually have to look it up and see if it correlates.

NickSo

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Nick So
The best i could do dividng F by G is reducing it by factoring the numerator...

I think its more complicated than that...

Holadem

Senior HTF Member
What makes you infer such things from the simple, if perhaps erronous statement f/g(x)?