Need help sharing a DSL connection between two computers

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Jeff Jacobson, Apr 8, 2006.

  1. Jeff Jacobson

    Jeff Jacobson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to share a DSL connnection between two computers, both running Windows XP home edition.
    I have a DSL Modem and a hub.

    The documentation for the modem indicates that I should be able to share the connection by connecting the modem to the hub's uplink port and connecting the other two computers to the hub's other ports. I can't get this to work. Any suggestions? Do I need to set up static IP addresses on the two comptuers or something? (If so, how exactly do I do this. E.g., what ip addresses should be used?)

    I've tried XP's home networking wizard already.

    For the longest time both computers were saying that a network cable was unplugged. I got that message to go away by setting the NIC's to 100 Half Duplex. (I read on a website that that's as good has hubs can do.) But the computers still could not see each other or the DSL connection.

    In case I did get this to work, would I also be able to share files / printers between the computers without sharing them with everyone else on the internet?

    The reason I am using a hub is because I already had it around the house. Would it be easier to network the computers a different way?

    Thanks.
     
  2. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is what you're using a hub or a router? If it's a hub (not a router) then you'll have to use static IP addresses. Also, if it's not a router, then make sure you've got your firewalls enabled since most hubs do not have built-in firewalls.

    An alternative approach would be to install a second ethernet port in one computer and use XP's internet sharing function.
     
  3. Kean-Hock Yeap

    Kean-Hock Yeap Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jeff, if you are using the Actiontec GT701 DSL modem that you linked to in your post, it already has a built-in NAT Firewall and DHCP server. So it does seem like you do have the correct hardware setup.

    Things to check:
    Is the connection between the hub and the modem actually working? Is it possible that you are not using the correct type of network cable or the cable between the hub and the modem is bad?

    Are your computers able to get any IP addresses from the DHCP server on the Modem when you have them connected through the hub?

    Is the DHCP server on the modem enabled?

    Also, from the FAQ page for GT701:
    http://www.actiontec.com/support/bro...t701_faqs.html
    "I am connected to the Modem and I'm getting an IP Address but I can't get online. What should I do?
    There are times when your computer can have problems resolving the DNS Address that that Modem gives out. To fix this simple go to the status page of the Modem's Web Interface and write down the DNS #s that the Modem has under the WAN section. Then statically input these DNS #s into your Ethernet Adaptor and you should be able to get online."
     
  4. Jeff Jacobson

    Jeff Jacobson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the suggestions. I'm not using crossover cables, and I used a cable testing device which indicated that the cables are working.



    The computer that is currently connected to the DSL modem actually has two ethernet ports built into the motherboard (one is a "Gigabit LAN controller"). If I understand correctly, that computer would need to be left on in order for the other computer to connect, so that would not be an ideal solution. But if I did do this, would I need to use a crossover cable to connect the two computers?

    I'll try some of these things out when I have a chance and post back. (The DSL connection works when connected to one computer, and someone is normally using it or downloading something, so I don't have many chances to disconnect the cables.)
     
  5. Mike Fassler

    Mike Fassler Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes you need to use a crossover when connecting from pc to pc,
    also I would ditch the hub for a switch.
     
  6. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0


    This is true. However, many ethernet ports now are "auto-sensing" (or something like that) and can tell what type of connection has been made and will adjust the signal to essentially "create" a crossed-over signal through a patch cable.
     
  7. LewB

    LewB Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd start looking for firewalls. Is the XP firewall on ? If so, try turning it off. Do you have other firewalls installed ? If so, you may need to define the network address(es) as 'trusted'.
     
  8. Mike Fassler

    Mike Fassler Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0


    yeah but the auto sensing on most NIC cards is only to auto sense network speed not cable type, on the other hand on hubs/switches etc. you want them to have auto mdi/mdix ports if you can and then it wont matter what types of cables you use [​IMG]
     
  9. Jeff Jacobson

    Jeff Jacobson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't been able to get a network set up yet.

    Since the modem we have now is rented from Qwest, I was considering just buying a new one that had more ethernet ports, such as this one.

    Is there anything I need to watch out for when buying a new modem? Are certain modems incompatible with certain ISPs?
     
  10. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just get a router instead of another modem. A cable runs from the modem to the router and then from there to the computers. This allows you to continue using your router if you ever switch services.
     
  11. Rommel_L

    Rommel_L Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you just need internet access for both computer, connect one computer thru wired and buy a Wireless-G adapter for the other computer.
     
  12. MarkHastings

    MarkHastings Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    12,013
    Likes Received:
    1
    I agree with this too. And if you get a wireless router, you'll have even more flexibility.

    Although, you could very well go with that 'all in one' Modem/Router (from your link), but (personally) I prefer separate components as they are more flexible for future setups.

    Jeff, you mention that you rent the Quest modem? Is it old or new? If it's old, since you're renting it, you may want to contact your DSL provider about a new one.
     
  13. Jeff Jacobson

    Jeff Jacobson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0

    We've only had DSL for a few months.
     
  14. Jeff Jacobson

    Jeff Jacobson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I got a switch and the network is working now.

    On one of the computers, there is a slight problem. Sometimes the sound card (built into the motherboad) will stop working. When an error message box comes up, you will hear the system beep instead of the normal sound from the sound card. (After resetting the computer, the sound will be normal again.) This did not happen before connecting to the network. Any ideas as to what the cause of this problem is?
     
  15. Mike Fassler

    Mike Fassler Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    sounds like a driver issue? what motherboard do you have?
     
  16. Jeff Jacobson

    Jeff Jacobson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page