What's new

Need help finishing my HT!!!! (1 Viewer)

Alowe

Agent
Real Name
Andrew
I am a bit new to this realm, as I am more of a PC guru so bear with me please...

So i took the dive and bought the Sammy 6187 after looking at what seemed like dozens of systems. The room I will be housing this beauty will be 25' wide by 15' deep. It will be sitting upon an oak stand I made (about 225 lbs of marvel), that will be holding all other electronics. At the other end of the 15' will be my couch, also where I will be. I will have a SA Explorer 8300HD DVR connected to it along with my XBOX 360 w/HD-DVD.

What I am looking for advice it amp and speakers. I would like a 7.1 amp but am looking for only 5.1 now with speakers. Amp I would like HDMI 1.3 but not a deal breaker for me. I have about 1200 to spend on the amp, and about 1500 on the speakers. The speakers are my main concern. I will be listening to movies and TV through them about 90% of the time, CD listening is not a big concern with this setup. I am looking for some suggestions with the budget and the size of this room.

Thanks in advance,

Andy

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Hi Andrew.

We tend to discourage specific make/model recomendations here in the Basics section. So I will move your post to the Speakers fourm, since that is your main concern.

I will give you some 'generic' advice:

Home Theater (and games) :) dont need highly-accurate speakers. Music-quality speakers are nice but you can save a lot of money if you are mainly doing movies.

The subwoofer is critical. You might look into sets of speakers that come with great subwoofers like the ones from SVS or HSU. (I personally prefer the SVS subs myself).