My Grand Theft Auto Vice City won't work.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Nicholas A. N., Jan 30, 2003.

  1. Nicholas A. N.

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Grand Theft Auto Vice City won't work.Every time I play this game in six minutes it will say error reading Grand Theft Auto Vice City DVD. Does anyone have any suggestions on what to do?
     
  2. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like a bad disc. I'd exchange it.
     
  3. Morgan Jolley

    Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    8,900
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    It could also be the console. Try out some CDs, DVDs, or other PS2 games (both CD and DVD based ones).
     
  4. Travis Olson

    Travis Olson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Travis Olson
    I had the exact same problem a couple of days ago. It turned out to be a bad disc. I just exchanged it for a new one. It was the first time I've ever had a bad disc on any system.
     
  5. Joseph Young

    Joseph Young Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  6. Nicholas A. N.

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have already got a new ps2 because my old one did not work it played cds and ps1 games but no dvd format discs. I am sure that my game says that because I have tried to play before but it did not work.
     
  7. Travis Olson

    Travis Olson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Travis Olson
     
  8. Joseph Young

    Joseph Young Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So the message would appear on the GTAVC screen (not the PS2 menu screen)? In that case, it probably is the disc.

    Now that you guys mention it, on two ocassions, my GTAVC game locked up in the middle of gameplay for no apparent reason; it just froze. But it hasn't been rampant enough for me to start worrying seriously yet.

    ~j
     

Share This Page