What's new

My DIY sub plans (1 Viewer)

PaulWY

Grip
Hey Guys,

I would like to build a sub for both music and HT. My room is about 18'x15' with concrete floor. After spending days trying to place the fronts for decent bass, I've discovered the room is a bass vacuum.

Anyways, after some research, I'm looking at getting the AVA250 sub amp and the Tempest driver. I'm quite new to all this and have no clue what Q and Fc are, but based on the enclosure descriptions I'd like to go with either the EBS or Adire Alignment.

I've never done any wood work before, so I hope the cabinet isn't too hard to build. I've also taken a look at that WinISD program I see mentioned in this forum... no clue how the heck to use it.

Anyone have comments on this project? Does the amp/sub/enclosure sound like it would fit my room size? Is there another combo that would be better for the same price or cheaper? I'm in Canada, if it makes a difference.

Bob K

Stunt Coordinator
Paul,

I have the Tempest/AVA 250 combination in a "mid-Q" sealed box in a larger, vaulted room that opens out into another large, vaulted room. One significant difference is your concrete floor, which might be a factor (just guessing here) in your perceiving the room to be a "bass vacuum." At all events, everyone has their favorite, but I love my Tempest, which puts out more than enough bass for me!

Tempest Construction Pix: http://www.audiocircle.com/circles/m...view_album.php

Wayne Ernst

Senior HTF Member
Paul,

Your combo sounds like a good one. I have a similar room size. I was utilizing a 15" Dayton DVC (quite similar to the Tempest) and driving it with a 200 watt (@ 4 Ohms) plate amplifier. However, my cabinet was a little small - at 87 or so liters. This led to a "Q" a little higher than I would have liked - but, still very acceptable.