Measuring internal volume accurately

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by AlexKunec, Mar 23, 2002.

  1. AlexKunec

    AlexKunec Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Say i have a 3cu ft internal volume enclosure. I put a 3"dia 27"long port. Do I have to deduct all of the volume occupied by the port including the air inside the port, or do I just deduct the volume occupied by the thickness of the walls of the port?
     
  2. Dustin B

    Dustin B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2001
    Messages:
    3,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The port itself and all the air inside it. Just use the volume of a cylinder forumla on the outer diameter of the port.
     
  3. Brian Bunge

    Brian Bunge Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alex,

    Yes. OK just kidding. You treat the port as if it were a completely solid object, so that's all of the internal volume taken up by the port.

    Brian
     

Share This Page